Michael Clarke will be favourite to win the Allan Border Medal and we will bring you all the live updates from the Melbourne’s Crown Casino from 8.30 pm AEDT tonight.

In the considered period, Clarke has the statistics to back his ‘favourite’ tag, what with the 1167 runs scored at a near-70 average in Test match cricket to go with his record as a captain.

There was a match-winning century at Colombo, a 151 that towered over the rest at Cape Town against South Africa and a more recent triple-century versus India at the SCG. He topped all of that with a double century in against the same opponent.

Clarke’s ODI record has been excellent too. While his only century during the voting period came against Bangladesh, he averaged 121 in five innings in Sri Lanka and has been equally adept in the home series against India and Sri Lanka.

Michael Hussey could run Michael Clarke close. He had ended up as the man-of-the-match in all the three Test matches of the series in Sri Lanka and while his form tapered off a little in the series against South Africa and New Zealand that followed, he came back well against India.

Hussey could be one of the favourites for the Test Player of the Year award.

In the ODI Player of the Year categories, Shane Watson could jump into the fray but his injury-related issues have caused him to miss most of the recent games.

Earlier, Watson had smashed a 185 not out against Bangladesh in Dhaka, which broke the previous record for most sixes by an Australian in an ODI and may give Clarke a run for his money.

The other categories at tonight’s awards include T20 Player of the Year, State Player of the Year, Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year, Women’s Cricketer of the Year:

The previous winners of the Allan Border Medal are as follows:

Glenn McGrath, Steve Waugh, Matthew Hayden, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting (4), Michael Clarke (2), Brett Lee, Shane Watson (2)

You can read here about how the Allan Border awards are calculated.

The Ashes is almost here, and we want to know who YOU think should line up for Australia against England in the first Test.
Pick your Ashes dream team here