‘We Got It Wrong’: Harrigan (finally) admits mistake
Bill Harrigan launches his book 'Harrigan'. (AAP Image/Dean Lewins)
After 24 rounds of the National Rugby League premiership of 2012, we have two referees on the field and a video referee sitting up in the grandstand with countless camera angles.
However, why has referee’s boss Bill Harrigan come out to admit his referees, some regarded as the best in the world, made the wrong call.
On Monday night the referee’s boss was forced to admit that the controversial try awarded to Canterbury Bankstown’s Johnathan Wright in the 74th minute of their clash against the Wests Tigers was the incorrect call.
“It shouldn’t have (been awarded), we made a mistake there, got it wrong,” Harrigan said.
“But I would like to say from the word go that you can run around your own player in some instance on a football field but in this instance it was wrong.”
Before also admitting that the 37th minute try awarded to Melbourne’s Sisa Waqa in their victory against the Brisbane Broncos was also incorrect, considering the player had knocked the ball on.
“Unfortunately we got that one wrong as well,” Harrigan said.
Despite admitting that the referees had made mistakes, it didn’t stop fans from questioning why Harrigan was still forced to admit they were still making the wrong decisions on the field, which has prompted an emergency meeting being called by Harrigan to go over some of the contentious decisions with his leading whistle blowers.
It however doesn’t leave much hope to fans of the game that the newly revamped finals series will not be over shadowed by a refereeing blunder that could quite possibly cost a team, and their supporters, a premiership.