Time for a new cricket format

Rabbitz Roar Guru

By , Rabbitz is a Roar Guru

 , , ,

38 Have your say

    Related coverage

    Twenty20 Cricket is fast losing its lustre, so in good marketing form it is time to tweak the formula just a tad.

    Introducing the latest craze in a cricket mad world: Twenty20Twenty10 cricket!

    The game consists of two 20-over innings. Each side bats once and fields once.

    During their batting innings each team can use up to 20 batsmen.

    Note: The members of the batting team must be referred to as ‘batters’ and never as ‘batsmen’. This is to distinguish them as a superior class of willow wielding fiends from those in the other formats.

    There are to be 10 on the field for the bowling side and each must bowl two overs.

    There will be an improved boundary system with four boundary divisions:

    Inner: 2.5 runs – for a hit over the Inner Boundary Rope, situated five metres inside the standard boundary rope. The batsman maybe caught out if the ball is caught between the Inner and Outer ropes. A well as the wicket falling, the batting team will also lose 2.5 runs for such a dismissal.

    Four-run boundary: 4 runs: The same as a traditional cricket four run boundary.

    Six-run boundary: 6 runs: The same as a traditional cricket six run boundary.

    Maximum: 12 runs: The ball must clear the real fence and NOT be caught by a spectator. If a spectator cleanly catches the ball, then no runs are awarded.

    As a marketing bonus, the spectator who catches the ball and denies the batter the runs will receive a full refund of their entry fee, plus a stipend to cover incidental expenses such as food and transport.

    Power plays will initially be dispensed with as they will be re-introduced next season for an even more exciting product.

    If this doesn’t bring the crowds back, I don’t know what will!