Cricket Australia contracted players list for 2013-2014 announced

The Roar Roar Guru

By ,


106 Have your say

Popular article! 4,443 reads

    Cricket Australia has today advised the chosen 20 contracted players for 2013-2014 contract list.

    The National Selection Panel (NSP) is allowed to choose between 17-20 players.

    For the previous season, 17 players were chosen, with nine receiving an upgrade due to playing sufficient games.

    John Inverarity, Rod Marsh, Andy Bichel and Mickey Arthur were the NSP members who formulated the list – captain Michael Clarke was not part of the process.

    Of note, Jackson Bird was not included on the list, while David Hussey has lost his contract. Brad Haddin retains his place, despite Matthew Wade being the current preferred wicket-keeper.

    James Faulkner is perhaps the bolter, having played just 34 first class games at age 22, while 19 year old Pat Cummins has survived, despite playing minimal cricket through injury.

    In terms of state numbers, NSW (6) and Queensland (1) remain unchanged, while SA (2) has gained one, Tasmania (5) gaining two, despite Ricky Ponting retiring, Victoria (5) gaining one, while WA (1) has lost one with Michael Hussey retiring.

    Contracted players are paid by Cricket Australia, rather than states. States with more contracted players have more money to re-contract and recruit players at the domestic level.


    CA Contract List 2013-2014



    State Team

    Big Bash League Team

    George Bailey


    Tasmania Hobart Hurricanes
    Michael Clarke


    New South Wales Sydney Thunder
    Ed Cowan


    Tasmania Hobart Hurricanes
    Patrick Cummins


    New South Wales Perth Scorchers
    Xavier Doherty


    Tasmania Hobart Hurricanes
    James Faulkner


    Tasmania Melbourne Stars
    Brad Haddin


    New South Wales Sydney Sixers
    Ryan Harris


    Queensland Brisbane Heat
    Ben Hilfenhaus


    Tasmania Hobart Hurricanes
    Phillip Hughes


    South Australia Adelaide Strikers
    Mitchell Johnson


    Western Australia Brisbane Heat
    Nathan Lyon


    South Australia Adelaide Strikers
    Glenn Maxwell


    Victoria Melbourne Stars
    Clint McKay


    Victoria Melbourne Stars
    James Pattinson


    Victoria Melbourne Stars
    Peter Siddle


    Victoria N/A
    Mitchell Starc


    New South Wales Sydney Sixers
    Matthew Wade


    Victoria Melbourne Stars
    David Warner


    New South Wales Sydney Sixers
    Shane Watson


    New South Wales Brisbane Heat

    *Age is at 3 April 2013

    Speaking about the contract list, National Selector John Inverarity said: “The National Selection Panel has chosen a group of players who have performed well in the past 12 months and who we expect to feature prominently in the Australian Test, ODI and T20I sides for the 2013-14 season.

    “Of the 20 players on the 2013-14 contract list all currently hold a CA playing contract. The 17 players initially contracted for the 2012-13 season played a significant role in selections across the various formats during the season. Those upgraded to the contract list during the season all proved their worth.

    “Six of the nine players upgraded to the contract list during the 2012-13 season have been rewarded with contracts for the full 2013-14 season, these being George Bailey, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Glenn Maxwell and Clint McKay. All of these players staked their claims for a contract for the 2013-14 period by way of their performances and the expectation of the role they will play during the coming 12 months.

    “Phillip Hughes has made a lot of runs throughout the past 12 months and is a young player who we are looking to become a reliable and prolific run-scorer, while Ed Cowan worked hard in the last 12 months to earn an upgrade and the panel feel that he is deserving of selection on this list for the coming year.

    “George Bailey has been one of our most successful ODI batsmen since he debuted in that format in March 2012. Clint McKay’s success as an ODI player was reflected in him being awarded Australia’s One Day Player of The Year at the Allan Border Medal.

    “The National Selection Panel is very impressed by the manner in which James Faulkner has been performing and developing. He is a very competitive young man who consistently manages to have an impact on games with both bat and ball.

    “Glenn Maxwell is a talented young player who has had opportunity invested in him. He is very aware that he needs to tighten his game and perform with greater impact and consistency.

    “In addition, Xavier Doherty continues to be Australia’s first choice ODI spin bowler. Mitchell Johnson is an experienced fast bowler who is part of our one-day cricket plans and will be part of our ongoing Ashes discussions. Ben Hilfenhaus played all three forms of the game for Australia last year and he provides an experienced option for us in a busy year of cricket ahead.

    “Jackson Bird, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja and Steve Smith were all very close to making this contract list and we expect them to take opportunities that are presented across formats to represent Australia and make a case for an upgrade to a CA contract, as the year unfolds.

    “Aaron Finch hasn’t made the contract list on this occasion but the NSP hopes he will make a case for future inclusion through his performances.

    “There are three players from last year’s initial contract list who have not been given a contract for 2013-14, these being Ricky Ponting, Mike Hussey and David Hussey. The former two have retired from international cricket, while David Hussey has been omitted from the contract list.”

    More to come.

    Must Watch Video:

    Check out why this has been viewed thousands of times!