Clarke, Watson named in Aust ODI squad

11 Have your say

    Australian selectors have resisted the temptation to rest injury-plagued duo Michael Clarke and Shane Watson from next month’s seven-match one-day series in India, but high-profile trio David Warner, Matthew Wade and Fawad Ahmed have all been omitted.

    Australia named a 14-man squad for the tour, which opens with a Twenty20 clash on October 10, including the likes of Mitchell Johnson, George Bailey, James Faulkner and Phil Hughes, who will all be pushing their case for the opening Ashes Test at the Gabba this summer.

    Skipper Clarke was troubled by back complaints throughout Australia’s recent Ashes tour of England, admitting on Wednesday it was “stiff and sore” following the arduous three-month trip, while Watson was also hampered by hip and groin complaints.

    “After a long tour, Michael Clarke’s back condition has flared up again and he has been selected subject to fitness,” National Selector John Inverarity said in a statement.

    “He has returned to Australia for further assessment and the NSP (national selection panel) hopes that it will improve in time for the Indian tour.”

    Warner, dropped from the one-day portion of the Ashes series due to poor form, has failed to earn a recall while Wade, who scored 0 and 30 in his only ODI innings in England, has felt the selectors’ wrath.

    The experienced Brad Haddin, who has also displaced Wade from the Test team, takes his place.

    “Matthew Wade has been omitted due to lack of form,” Inverarity added.

    “Matthew is 25 years of age and has a great deal of natural ability both as a batsman and as a keeper.

    “The (NSP) is confident that Matthew will regain form and press hard for selection in the not too distant future.”

    Pakistan-born Ahmed, who made his international debut for Australia during their rain-affected 2-1 ODI series victory over England this month, makes way for Xavier Doherty, who is the only specialist spinner in the squad.

    “The NSP feels that (Doherty) is well suited to ODIs in India,” Inverarity said.

    Australian squad to tour India

    Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey (vc), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson.

    © AAP 2017