2016-17 Big Bash League – Teams

Big Bash League Logo

The Big Bash League is Australian cricket’s fast and furious domestic Twenty20 cricket competition, now in its fifth¬†season after the competition commenced¬†in 2011. The 2016/17 Big Bash League season will be contested by eight teams over eight rounds, beginning in late December and running through until the Big Final on January 28.

The eight teams that contest the Big Bash League competition are: Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers finished on top of the league table in the 2015-16 season but couldn’t make it count in finals, as they were easily brushed aside by an Usman Khawaja-led Sydney Thunder in their semi-final at the Adelaide Oval. The Strikers are yet to play in or win a Big Bash league final.

Adelaide Strikers squad
Brad Hodge (c), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Jonathon Dean, Ben Dunk, Travis Head, Jon Holland, Chris Jordan, Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Michael Neser, Kieron Pollard, Kane Richardson, Craig Simmons, Kelvin Smith, Billy Stanlake, Jake Weatherald, Ish Sodhi

Brisbane Heat
Brisbane Heat logo

Coming off the back of a poor 2014-15 campaign, the Brisbane Heat started 2015-16 in a similar fashion, before recording three wins at the back-end of the season on the back of some extraordinary performances by Chriss Lynn to finish in sixth spot on the ladder.

Brisbane Heat squad
Brendon McCullum (c), Samuel Badree, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Alex Doolan, Andrew Fekete, Luke Feldman, Jason Floros, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, James Peirson, Nathan Reardon, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth

Hobart Hurricanes
Hobart Hurricanes logo

The Hobart Hurricanes were one of three sides to finish with three wins for the 2015-16 season, finishing just two points outside the top four. The signing of Stuart Broad, along with the retention of Kumar Sangakkara will have them in contention for the title this time around.

Hobart Hurricanes squad
Cameron Boyce, George Bailey, Dan Christian, Clive Rose, Jake Reed, Sam Rainbird, Hamish Kingston, Simon Milenko, Tim Paine, Shaun Tait, Beau Webster, Jonathan Wells, Dominic Michael, Kumar Sangakkara, Ben McDermott

Melbourne Renegades
Melbourne Renegades logo

The ‘little brother’ team to the Stars, the Melbourne Renegades haven’t had a lot of success so far. They finished with three wins for the 2015-16 season, which saw them miss out on the finals for the third consecutive year.

Melbourne Renegades squad
Aaron Finch (c), Tom Beaton, Dwayne Bravo, Tom Cooper, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Marcus Harris, Brad Hogg, Sunil Narine, Peter Nevill, James Pattinson, Nathan Rimmington, Peter Siddle, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade, Matthew Short, Cameron White, Nick Winter, Thisara Perera

Melbourne Stars
Melbourne Stars logo

Run by Eddie McGuire and known for signing big name players, the Melbourne Stars are the glamour side in Melbourne. They’ve made finals every year of the competition but it wasn’t until 2015-16 that they won their first post-season match, before they were defeated by the Sydney Thunder in the final.

Melbourne Stars squad
David Hussey (c), Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Liam Bowe, Jackson Coleman, James Faulkner, Cameron Gannon, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sam Harper, Ben Hilfenhaus, Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Tom Triffitt, Daniel Worrall, Luke Wright, Adam Zampa

Perth Scorchers
Perth Scorchers logo

The most successful team in league history, the Perth Scorchers have played in every finals series, including four of the five Big Bash League finals to date. 2015-16 was the first year they had lost a semi-final, going down to the Melbourne Stars at the MCG.

Perth Scorchers squad
Adam Voges (c), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Ian Bell, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Klinger, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, James Muirhead, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Cameron Valente, Sam Whiteman, David Willey, Tim Bresnan

Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers were the inaugural league title winners in the 2011-12 season and made the final again in 2014-15, but were unable to enjoy any success in 2015-16. The men in pink won just two games on their way to the wooden spoon.

Sydney Sixers squad
Moises Henriques (c), Sean Abbott, Doug Bollinger, Jackson Bird, Johan Botha, Ryan Carters, Ben Dwarshuis, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Daniel Hughes, Michael Lumb, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Joe Mennie, Jason Roy, Jordan Silk, Henry Thornton

Sydney Thunder

Previously the Big Bash League’s traditional cellar dwellers, the Sydney Thunder enjoyed a season to remember in 2015-16, with Usman Khawaja, Michael Hussey, Andre Russell, Shane Watson and Jacques Kallis guiding them to a maiden title after finishing the regular season in fourth place.

Sydney Thunder squad
Shane Watson (c), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Patrick Cummins, Jake Doran, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Clint McKay, Eoin Morgan, Arjun Nair, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Gurinder Sandhu, James Vince, Carlos Brathwaite, Alister McDermott