The Roar
The Roar


Staniforth ruled out of Canada clash

Roar Rookie
27th September, 2007

Wallabies inside centre Scott Staniforth has been withdrawn from Saturday’s final Pool B clash with Canada in Bordeaux. Staniforth was ruled out of the match after failing a medical on his injured shoulder.

Wallabies Coach John Connolly said the 29-year-old utility had failed to make a satisfactory recovery since injuring the shoulder on his first carry of the ball during last Sunday’s 55-12 win over Fiji.

“(Team Doctor) Martin Raftery examined him this afternoon and the movement in Scott’s shoulder was still fairly limited,” said Connolly.

“He’s suffered a pretty bad cork and bone bruising and probably needs another four to five days to get over the injury.”

Staniforth’s omission paves the way for several changes in the Wallabies backline for Saturday’s clash with Canada at Stade Chaban-Delmas in Bordeaux.

Adam Ashley-Cooper switches from outside centre to take Staniforth’s place at inside centre, while Lote Tuqiri moves in one place to outside centre.

Cameron Shepherd moves from fullback to wing with Chris Latham to again start in the number 15 jersey.

Matt Giteau is the new man on the reserves bench, wearing jersey number 22.

The revised Wallabies team list for Saturday’s final Pool B clash is as follows:


Rugby World Cup 2007
Pool B Match
Saturday 29 September, 2007

Stade Chaban-Delmas, Bordeaux, FRANCE

Kick off: 3.00pm local (11.00pm AEST)

1. Greg Holmes
2. Adam Freier
3. Al Baxter #50
4. Nathan Sharpe (vc)
5. Mark Chisholm
6. Hugh McMeniman
7. George Smith (c)
8. David Lyons
9. Sam Cordingley
10. Julian Huxley
11. Drew Mitchell
12. Adam Ashley-Cooper
13. Lote Tuqiri (vc)
14. Cameron Shepherd *
15. Chris Latham

16. Sean Hardman *
17. Guy Shepherdson
18. Rocky Elsom
19. Phil Waugh
20. Stephen Hoiles
21. George Gregan
22. Matt Giteau

Key: #50 = 50th Test Cap
* = RWC Debut

1 Rod Snow
2 Pat Riordan
3 Jon Thiel
4 Luke Tait
5 Mike James
6 Colin Yukes
7 Dave Biddle
8 Sean-Michael Stephen
9 Morgan Williams (c)
10 Ander Monro
11 James Pritchard
12 Derek Daypuck
13 Mike Pyke
14 Justin Mensah-Coker
15 Dth van der Merwe



16 Aaron Carpenter
17 Dan Pletch
18 Mike Pletch
19 Mike Burak
20 Mike Webb
21 Ed Fairhurst
22 Dave Spicer