The Roar
The Roar


Twenty20 Live Blog: Australia versus England

Roar Guru
11th January, 2011
2044 Reads

Welcome to The Roar’s live blog of tonight’s Twenty20 cricket match between Australia and England at the Adelaide Oval. In a rematch of the 2010 World Twenty20 final (how’s that for a mouthful), Australia will be hoping the switch to the shortest form of the game provides a change of fortunes.

Only Mitchell Johnson, Shane Watson and Steve Smith have been named in tonight’s squad from the Australian Test side which lost the Ashes 3-1 to England.

With Michael Clarke announcing his retirement from Twenty20 cricket following the Sydney Test match, Cameron White will captain the Australian side tonight, with Tasmanian Tim Paine his deputy, while England will be skippered by Paul Collingwood.

Australia will be hoping the inclusion of speedsters Shaun Tait and Brett Lee will trouble the English side, who enter tonight’s match on a seven game winning streak in Twenty20 international matches.

Australia squad: Cameron White (captain), Tim Paine (vice-captain), Aaron Finch, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Stephen O’Keefe, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson

England squad: Paul Collingwood (captain), Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Steven Davies, Steve Finn, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ajmal Shahzad, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy

Final teams to be announced.

Please join me and add your thoughts and comments during the match.