The Roar
The Roar


2012 Brownlow Medal: Live blog, updates

24th September, 2012
Full Broadcast details:

5:15pm AEST – 2012 Brownlow Medal Red Carpet
8:15pm AEST – 2012 Brownlow Medal Vote Count.

Channel Seven Melbourne: Red Carpet 7:30pm – 8:15pm. Vote Count: 8:15pm – 11:15pm (Live).

Channel Seven Adelaide: Red Carpet 7pm – 7:45pm. Vote Count: 7:45pm – 10:45pm (Live).

Channel Seven Perth: Red Carpet 5:30pm – 6pm and 6pm – 6:15pm. Vote Count: 6:30pm – 9:15pm (15min delay).

7 Mate Sydney: Red Carpet: 7:30pm – 8:15pm. Vote Count: 8:15pm – 11:30pm (Live).

7 Mate Brisbane: Red Carpet: 7:30pm – 8:15pm. Vote Count: 8:15pm – 11:30pm (Live).

Fox Footy and Arena: 2012 Brownlow Red Carpet 5:30pm – 6:30pm (Live).

Fox Footy and Arena: Fashion Police 6:30pm – 7pm (Live).

Fox Footy: AFL 360 7pm – 8pm (Live).

Fox Footy: 2012 Brownlow Medal Vote Count 8pm – 11:15pm (Live).
Roar Guru
24th September, 2012
9960 Reads

Tonight the AFL shifts its focus from the playing field to the red carpet for the presentation of the competition’s highest individual accolade, the Brownlow Medal. Join us from 5:15pm AEST as we follow all the action from Melbourne’s Crown Palladium.

In what promises to be one of the most open counts in years, it’s almost impossible to accurately predict which contender is most likely to walk away with the game’s most coveted prize.

Can Gary Ablett recapture the heights of 2009 and find himself on the podium for a second time?

Will Jobe Watson or Trent Cotchin be able to emulate Shane Crawford in 1999 and win the award while playing in a team who didn’t make finals?

Could the Adelaide duo of Scott Thompson and Patrick Dangerfield steal the show and take the medal back to South Australia?

Or will premiership favourites Hawthorn have their first winner since 1987 in late mover Sam Mitchell?

You can essentially throw a blanket over the entire field and it wouldn’t be a shock to find ourselves in similar territory to 2003, when Mark Ricciuto, Nathan Buckley and Adam Goodes all shared the spoils with equal votes.

The open field has been reflected by punters in the betting markets with Ablett a narrow favourite over Watson and Cotchin. Thompson, Dangerfield and Mitchell then follow, with Sydney’s contested king Josh Kennedy and Collingwood triple midfield threat of Dane Swan, Dayne Beams and Scott Pendlebury the most likely outsiders.

As is the case every year, there’s sure to be plenty of discussion generated regarding the umpires’ interpretation of player performance.


Who will be short-changed, who will be this year’s umpire’s pet, and which names will Andrew Demetriou incorrectly pronounce?

“I Omith, one vote…”

All this before we even get to one of the most important elements of Brownlow Medal night, the WAGs.

God bless those WAGs.

Whether your focus is on the count itself, shifting odds in the market or who is wearing what, we’ll have you covered at The Roar.