Habana wins IRPA try of the year award [video]

By The Crowd, The Crowd is a Roar Guru


49 Have your say

    Related coverage

    South Africa’s Bryan Habana has won the International Rugby Players’ Association (IRPA) try of the year award for his score against New Zealand in September, it was announced Thursday.

    The winger became the second Springbok to win the award, following Jaque Fourie who was honoured in 2009 for his try in the second Test against the British and Irish Lions.

    Habana, the 2007 International Rugby Board (IRB) player of the year, stunned world champions New Zealand when he took a pass from flanker Francois Louw at full speed, chipped ahead and gathered to score a try that briefly handed the Springboks the lead seven minutes into the second half of the contest in Dunedin.

    However, the All Blacks recovered to win 21-11.

    “Scoring a try against the All Blacks is always special, but scoring against them in New Zealand, is even more special,” said Habana in a statement.

    “I really enjoyed getting across the try-line in Dunedin — contributing to the success of the team and also lifting the spirits of my team-mates.

    “Winning this award is very special and hopefully I can continue scoring tries for the Springboks for a very long time,” added Habana, 29, who has so far grabbed 47 tries in 83 Tests for South Africa.

    Fourie, All Blacks great Mils Muliaina, Wales’s former IRB player of the year Shane Williams and Japan’s Daisuke Ohata, the leading try scorer in Test rugby, formed the panel of judges who chose Habana’s effort ahead of the three other shortlisted tries scored by New Zealand duo Hosea Gear and Julian Savea and Julien Malzieu of France.

    Consideration was also given to votes cast by rugby fans from all around the world via the IRB’s interactive platforms.

    © AFP 2018

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (49)

    • November 30th 2012 @ 8:11am
      Ryan said | November 30th 2012 @ 8:11am | ! Report

      Very good and deserving try IMO
      How he was not nominated for IRB player of the year over Farrell is ludicrous to say the least

      • November 30th 2012 @ 6:24pm
        Hightackle said | November 30th 2012 @ 6:24pm | ! Report

        O.Farrell should have won this award.

    • November 30th 2012 @ 11:10am
      Bazza Allblack Supporter said | November 30th 2012 @ 11:10am | ! Report

      Bloody good try – reminds me why we love watching rugby

      Very well deserved!

    • Roar Guru

      November 30th 2012 @ 11:13am
      Shop said | November 30th 2012 @ 11:13am | ! Report

      Should really read ‘individual’ try of the year. I think Habana’s was definitely one of the best tries this year, but some of the others weren’t nearly as impressive as some of the team efforts. Dagg’s in the first Bledisloe and Landajo against against the AB’s spring to mind.

      • November 30th 2012 @ 11:21am
        Jerry said | November 30th 2012 @ 11:21am | ! Report

        Yeah, I tend to prefer great team tries over individual efforts unless it’s an absolute freak play the likes of Cullen, Lomu or Caucau are capable of.

        I reckon Messam’s try vs Wales has got to be a contender for next year’s list, as does the 13 man Welsh maul for sheer bravado.

    • Roar Guru

      November 30th 2012 @ 12:16pm
      Hoy said | November 30th 2012 @ 12:16pm | ! Report

      By rights, Habana should have been squashed. Not much of a gap for him to squeeze through. Gus Gould always says “Pace is power”. True in this case. Smith was just left grabbing. Habana was his man I think and I can’t see why he didn’t get him. There was no other runner coming through there. Miss-communication with his prop?

    • November 30th 2012 @ 12:57pm
      Colin said | November 30th 2012 @ 12:57pm | ! Report

      Funny that. A player from the team everybody says is boring gets the try of the year…

      Not sure I agree on some assertions that it should be a team try. This award is to recognise individual brilliance.

      • November 30th 2012 @ 1:08pm
        Jerry said | November 30th 2012 @ 1:08pm | ! Report


      • Roar Guru

        November 30th 2012 @ 3:22pm
        Shop said | November 30th 2012 @ 3:22pm | ! Report

        I don’t think it should be a team try or an individual try. It should be the BEST try. I suggested above that all the nominations were solo efforts and I think it is unfair to overlook more graceful scores because it involved more than 1 player.

        • November 30th 2012 @ 6:03pm
          soapit` said | November 30th 2012 @ 6:03pm | ! Report

          but who do you award it to? the team or the individual.

          happy enough that its for the best individual effort. they could do a separate top ten best tries of the year without an award

          • Roar Guru

            December 1st 2012 @ 12:08am
            IvanN said | December 1st 2012 @ 12:08am | ! Report

            Also, if one man runs through an entire team, and makes a pass on the line for another to score – the other would win the award ?

            • Roar Guru

              December 1st 2012 @ 12:17am
              biltongbek said | December 1st 2012 @ 12:17am | ! Report

              Think about it this way, we have no nominations for Player of the year, so the IRB consoles us with the try of the year. 😉

    • November 30th 2012 @ 1:10pm
      Dcnz said | November 30th 2012 @ 1:10pm | ! Report

      Argentinas tries vs Wales and v the ABs in NZ …