Michael Clarke will look to make it two titles in a row at the Allan Border Medal which will be held on Monday at Melbourne.

We’ll bring you the live coverage of the action from the Allan Border Medal from 8.30 pm AEDT.

Apart from the Cricketer of the Year award, there will also be prizes for the Test player of the year, one-day international player of the year, T20 international player of the year, domestic player of the year, Bradman young cricketer of the year and the Belinda Clark Award for best female cricketer.

The cricketers and WAGs will make it to the red carpet before the votes will be counted and the winners announced. These votes will will come from fellow players, officials and journalists, who will vote for the player performances over the past 12 months.

While Clarke will be a favourite to win the award, he is only the second-highest scorer in that voting period of February 25, 2012 to January 28, 2013, behind Dave Warner. Of course he has a much better average – 61 to Warner’s 38 – and that should put him on a pedestal to win it again.

Shane Watson will be a front-runner to win the T20 cricketer of the year award after his four successive man-of-the-match awards in the World T20 apart from Clarke being favourite to make a clean sweep of the ODI and Test player of the year.

We hope to receive your opinions as the Allan Border Medal action unfolds at Melbourne.

Have Your Say

If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

The Crowd Says (29)

The Roar Live Blog: Latest comments displayed at the top of the page | Click here to jump to leave a comment

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 10:23pm | ! Report

    That’s it then…here’s a recap of all the winners:

    Allan Border Medal: Michael Clarke
    Test Player of the Year: Michael Clarke
    ODI Player of the Year: Clint McKay
    T20I Player of the Year: Shane Watson
    Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Joe Burns
    State Player of the Year: Phil Hughes
    Belinda Clark Women’s International Cricketer of the Year: Jess Cameron

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 10:13pm | ! Report

    Really, after the kind of year that Clarke has had, there wasn’t too much doubt about his win. And it was not even close.

    Clarke tallied 198 votes, while Hussey, Watson and Warner were at 165, 165 and 148 respectively!

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 10:10pm | ! Report

    And Michael Clarke has easily trumped competition from Dave Warner, Shane Watson and Michael Hussey to win the Allan Border Medal as well!

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 10:06pm | ! Report

    Clarke’s beats off the challenge from Michael Hussey, Matthew Wade and Mitchell Johnson to scoop that Test cricketer award.

    He had 22 votes in his kitty to Hussey’s 15, Wade’s 12 and Johnson’s 11.

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 10:04pm | ! Report

    If you could, you were off the mark! Michael Clarke has won his third Test Player of the Year award at the Allan Border Medal!

    It is also his second in a row.

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 10:02pm | ! Report

    Kim Hughes will present the Test Player of the Year award. Can you see anyone but Michael Clarke winning this one?

  • Roar Guru

    Suneer Chowdhary said | 9:57pm | ! Report

    A rousing speech from Ricky Ponting is followed by the counting of votes to decide the Test Cricketer of the Year.

, , , ,