The Roar
The Roar


Michael Hooper, Israel Folau, Jake White win 2013 Super Rugby player, rookie and coach of year awards

Michael Hooper of the NSW Waratahs amongst heavy Cheetahs defence. (Photo: Paul Barkley/LookPro)
8th August, 2013

Wallabies and NSW Waratahs flanker Michael Hooper has won Australia’s Super Rugby player of the year award.

The awards on Thursday provided some consolation for the Waratahs – who missed the finals after finishing behind the Brumbies and Queensland Reds – as their fullback Israel Folau crowned a spectacular debut season in the code with the rookie of the year award.

Brumbies coach Jake White was named coach of the year after taking his team to the final.

Hooper was a clear winner of the major gong, attracting 21 votes, four more than his two nearest challengers – veteran Brumbies flanker George Smith and Reds halfback Will Genia.

Wallabies utility back James O’Connor finished fourth before being cut by the Melbourne Rebels, with Folau fifth in the overall count.

Hooper is the first Waratah to claim the coveted award since former NSW captain and fellow openside flanker Phil Waugh in 2001.

The 21-year-old, who joined the Waratahs from the Brumbies at the start of 2013, polled votes in nine rounds of the competition, including four man-of-the-match performances.

Trailing Smith into the final rounds of the season, Hooper polled maximum points against the Brumbies in round 14 to pull one point behind before overtaking his back-row rival with another man-of-the-match display against the Crusaders in round 16.

Hooper secured the title his with a two-point performance in the final round of the season against the Reds.


The comeback fairytale of the season, Smith was runner-up after delivering five man-of-the-match performances for the Brumbies.

Folau was a revelation in his first season of Super Rugby, after switching codes for a second time after two years in the AFL and a hugely successful rugby league career.

The 24-year-old polled votes in six matches, including three man-of-the-match performances, was also NSW’s leading tryscorer and became a dual international with Wallabies selection for the series against the British and Irish Lions.

White is a worthy coach of the year after transforming the Brumbies from competition also-rans to title contenders in the space of two seasons.

Queensland winger Rod Davies was awarded the try of the year on behalf of the Reds after finishing off an incredible length-of-the-field effort in their round 10 match against the Sharks at Suncorp Stadium.

Experienced international Steve Walsh won his second Australian Super Rugby referee of the year award.

Player of the Year Recipients

Coach and Team of the Year  Recipients

Rookie of the Year  Recipients

Referee of the Year  Recipients

2013 – Michael Hooper

2012 – Will Genia

2011 – Will Genia

2010 – Quade Cooper

2009 – George Smith

2008 – George Smith

2007 – George Smith

2006 – George Smith

2005 – Chris Latham

2004 – Chris Latham

2003 – Joe Roff & Chris Latham

2002 – Stirling Mortlock

2001 – Phil Waugh

2000 – Chris Latham

1999 – Joe Roff

1998 – Stephen Larkham & John Eales

2013 – Jake White (Brumbies)

2012 – Ewen McKenzie (Reds)

2011 – Ewen McKenzie (Reds)

2010 – Chris Hickey (Waratahs)

2009 – Chris Hickey (Waratahs)

2008 – Ewen McKenzie (Waratahs)

2007 – Laurie Fisher (Brumbies)

2006 – Ewen McKenzie (Waratahs)

2005 – Ewen McKenzie (Waratahs)

2004 – David Nucifora (Brumbies)

2003 – David Nucifora (Brumbies)

2002 – David Nucifora (Brumbies)

2001 – Eddie Jones (Brumbies)

2000 – Eddie Jones (Brumbies)

1999 – John Connolly (Reds)

1998 – John Connolly (Reds)


2013 – Israel Folau

2012 – Joseph Tomane

2011 – Nick Phipps

2010 – Pat McCabe

2009 – Laurie Weeks

2008 – Tyrone Smith

2007 – Lachie Turner

2006 – Benn Robinson

2005 – Peter Hewat

2004 – Nic Henderson & Drew Mitchell

2003 – Matt Giteau

2002 – Van Humphries

2001 – David Croft

2000 – Phil Waugh

1999 – Nathan Sharpe

1998 – Chris Whitaker

2013 – Steve Walsh

2012 – Steve Walsh

2011 – Stuart Dickinson

2010 – Stuart Dickinson

2009 – Stuart Dickinson

2008 – Stuart Dickinson

2007 – Stuart Dickinson

2006 – Scott Young

2005 – Andrew Cole

2004 – Andrew Cole

2003 – Peter Marshall

2002 – Stuart Dickinson

2001 – Peter Marshall

2000 – Wayne Erickson

1999 – Stuart Dickinson

1998 – Scott Young



More to follow.