Greg Bird has won the Brad Fittler Medal awarded to the NSW State of Origin player of the series.

The Gold Coast back-rower picked up the award at a presentation evening in Sydney on Wednesday night.

Bird was the outstanding player for the Blues albeit in an eighth successive series loss to Queensland.

The 28-year-old received the award from NSW coach Laurie Daley in front of an audience that included most of the squad and ARLC chairman John Grant and NRL chief executive Dave Smith.

Bird played all three matches in the series, in which NSW narrowly lost the decider to Queensland in Sydney.

The award is named after former Sydney Roosters and NSW Blues five eighth Brad Fittler, who played 31 State of Origin matches between 1990 and 2004.

© AAP 2018
Do you find yourself logged out of The Roar?
We have just switched over to a secure site (https). This means you will need to log-in afresh. If you need help with recovering your password, please get in contact.

If you could choose from any and every NRL player in the competition, who would you pick in your rugby league dream team? Let us know with our team picker right here, and be sure to share it with all your league-loving mates.

Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

The Crowd Says (10)

  • September 12th 2013 @ 4:34am
    Rob G. said | September 12th 2013 @ 4:34am | ! Report

    Not sure why this is awarded now.

    • September 12th 2013 @ 4:52am
      Bemused said | September 12th 2013 @ 4:52am | ! Report


    • September 12th 2013 @ 12:08pm
      Cleveland Steamer said | September 12th 2013 @ 12:08pm | ! Report

      I thought it wasn’t awarded if we didnt win?

  • September 12th 2013 @ 6:52am
    oikee said | September 12th 2013 @ 6:52am | ! Report

    Birdy, best by the length of the Flemmington straight.

  • September 12th 2013 @ 8:05am
    Meesta Cool said | September 12th 2013 @ 8:05am | ! Report

    After his Diving Display against Storm last week, he should be considered for a few more awards, Australian Actor of the Year Award, World Diving association medal, or the prestigious underworld association ” Con artist” of the year award. sure there are plenty more!. — Please note: I stayed away from the word ‘GRUB’, a title he wins every year.

    • September 12th 2013 @ 8:22am
      Pest said | September 12th 2013 @ 8:22am | ! Report

      Reynolds has that gong already , birdys ok , boys just misguided , it’s not his fault , his ego has been inflated by the great one rikus stuartus , blame him , for everything

    • September 12th 2013 @ 12:08pm
      Cleveland Steamer said | September 12th 2013 @ 12:08pm | ! Report

      People need to stop wearing out the word grub. So over it

  • September 12th 2013 @ 8:31am
    Bulldog said | September 12th 2013 @ 8:31am | ! Report

    Best Grub or Best Soccer Diver?

  • September 12th 2013 @ 10:26am
    The eye said | September 12th 2013 @ 10:26am | ! Report

    I missed who won the Brad Fittler for Qld…Nate Myles would have gone close

  • September 12th 2013 @ 11:47am
    john badseed said | September 12th 2013 @ 11:47am | ! Report

    Just ahead of Hoffman, Woods and Merritt

Have Your Say

If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

, , , ,