The Roar
The Roar


All time alphabetical XIs: best of the best

No one has come close to Sir Don Bradman, and no one ever will. (AP Photo, File).
Roar Guru
3rd January, 2014
1093 Reads

Now that I have completed my series of articles on All Time XIs by the alphabet, I thought it would be worthwhile opening the decision on which team is best to you Roarers.

What I would like to know from you is pretty simple: which team is the best and why?

I’ll remind you that the match is to be played on late 90s or early 00s Gabba wicket in good weather.

In my lifetime, that has pretty much been the fairest wicket in world cricket offering something for everyone.

To get you started, I have taken the liberty of listing below the four teams that I think are the strongest. That said, if you think another team is worthy of mention in this company please feel free to do so. The full list of teams can be found here.

The four teams I believe are the strongest are:

The B Team
1. Warren Bardsley
2. Sir Geoffrey Boycott
3. Sir Donald Bradman (c)
4. Ken Barrington
5. Allan Border
6. Sir Ian Botham
7. Richie Benaud
8. John McCarthy Blackham (wk)
9. Sir Alec Bedser
10. Bishan Singh Bedi
11. Sydney Barnes

The H Team
1. Sir Jack Hobbs

2. Sir Leonard Hutton (c)

3. George Headley

4. Wally Hammond

5. Neil Harvey

6. Michael Hussey

7. Ian Healy (wk)

8. Sir Richard Hadlee

9. Harbhajan Singh

10. Sir Wes Hall

11. Michael Holding

The L Team
1. Justin Langer

2. Bill Lawry

3. Maurice Leyland

4. Brian Lara

5. Clive Lloyd (c)

6. VVS Laxman

7. Dennis Lindsay (wk)

8. Ray Lindwall

9. Jim Laker

10. Dennis Lillee

11. George Lohmann


The W Team
1. Bill Woodfull

2. Sir Frank Worrell (c)

3. Sir Clyde Walcott

4. Sir Everton Weekes

5. Steve Waugh

6. Doug Walters

7. Wasim Akram

8. Wasim Bari (wk)

9. Shane Warne

10. Waqar Younis

11. Courtney Walsh

I would also recommend Roarers check out the M Team and the G Team – both immensely strong as well.

So, who would win the Best of the Best Test and why?