The Roar
The Roar


Why Hoggy and Dunk should be off to Bangladesh: my T20 WC squad

Brad Hogg was one of Australia's last Test Chinamen. (AAP Image/Lincoln Baker).
Roar Guru
9th February, 2014

He just turned 43 on Thursday, but Brad Hogg shows no signs of slowing down. Things were evenly poised in the Big Bash grand final last Friday night until he came on.

Hoggy took the big wickets of Jonathan Wells and Travis Birt, only went for 17 runs in four overs and the Scorchers cruised to victory.

His match-winning performance showed us Hoggy is still the best spinner in Australia in the shortest form of the game and should be on the plane to Bangladesh for the T20 World Cup in March.

Another bonus for Hoggy is his experience. Considering the tournament is on the subcontinent two spinners may be taken, so Brad Hogg could offer heaps of experience to someone like James Muirhead or Cameron Boyce.

Joining him on the plane to Bangladesh should be the Big Bash player of the tournament Ben Dunk.

Dunk scored 395 runs in the tournament opening the batting for the Hobart Hurricanes and has been a really consistent performer.

The bonus with Ben Dunk is he is a very handy wicketkeeper so could take the gloves for the Aussies.

Other players that could find themselves joining Hoggy and Dunk in Bangladesh include 39-year-old Brad Hodge, who got a call up for Australia against England, and Chris Lynn, who is one of the biggest hitters in Australia and showed that for the Brisbane Heat.

One player who could miss out is injured all-rounder Shane Watson, he hasn’t played any Twenty20 cricket since the IPL and may have been overtaken by Cameron White in the pecking order.


Australia’s T20 World Cup squad will play three T20 matches in South Africa after the Test series as warm up for the World Cup.

My T20 World Cup squad (in batting order):
1. Dave Warner
2. Aaron Finch
3. Cameron White
4. Ben Dunk (wk)
5. George Bailey (c)
6. Chris Lynn
7. Glenn Maxwell
8. James Faulkner
9. Nathan Coulter Nile
10. Mitchell Starc
11. Brad Hogg

12. Shaun Marsh
13. Brad Hodge
14. Ben Cutting
15. Jackson Bird
16. James Muirhead