The Roar
The Roar


Hawthorn win 2014 AFL Grand Final 137-74 over Sydney

27th September, 2014
2938 Reads

The Hawthorn Hawks have won the 2014 AFL Grand Final, beating the Sydney Swans by 63-points in front of 99,454 at the MCG.

SYDNEY 11.8 (74)
HAWTHORN 21.11 (137)

Josh Kennedy kicked the first goal of the match, but from that point on it was largely one-way traffic.

The first quarter ended with the Hawks leading by 20-points, and by half time they were 42-point leaders.

The second quarter started well for the Swans, as Ben McGlynn kicked the first goal. But the Hawks professionalism and cool heads did not falter as they answered with a string of five consecutive goals.

The momentum continued in the Hawks favour in the second half, as Jarryd Roughead and Jack Gunston kicked the opening goals of the half.

Kieren Jack and Lance Franklin showed some fight for the Swans, but they could not hold back the Hawks who continued to push the lead out to 54-points by the final break.

The Hawks’ pressure was terrific all day and all their key cogs featured heavily.

Luke Hodge finished the match with 35 touches and two goals – he won the 2014 Norm Smith Medal.


Sam Mitchell finished with 33 touches and nine tackles.

Jordan Lewis was all class, finding the footy 37 times and taking 8 marks.

Emerging star, Will Langford, finished with 21 touches and three goals – one of his goals an absolute miracle dribbler from the sideline during the third term.

Hawthorn become just the third side to kick five goals in each quarter of a Grand Final and the first side to win back-to-back premierships since the Brisbane Lions.

Lance Franklin kicked four goals for the Swans, but was given little help up forward, as Kurt Tippet kicked just the one goal and Sam Ried went without a goal.

The Hawks had six men kick multiple goals and four players rack up more than 30 touches.

Jarryd Roughead lead the goal kicking count, booting a handful, finishing the match with five goals and 1 behind.

The Swans showed some fight in the second half, but were unable to claw their way back into the match, as the Hawks raced away to a 63-point victory.


HAWTHORN 5.5 11.9 16.11 21.11 (137)
SYDNEY 2.3 5.3 8.5 11.8 (74)

Hawthorn: J Roughead 5, L Breust, 3 W Langford, 3 J Gunston, 2 L Hodge, 2 S Burgoyne, 2 B Hill, D Hale, M Suckling, P Puopolo.
Sydney: L Franklin 4, A Goodes 2, K Jack 2, B McGlynn, J Kennedy, K Tippett.

Official Crowd: 99,454 at MCG.

2014 Norm Smith Medal: Luke Hodge