The Roar
The Roar


2015 AFL fixture announced

29th October, 2014
1508 Reads

The complete fixture for the 2015 AFL season has been released following the release of the opening round matches last week.

Following their popularity in the 2014 season, 2015 will feature five thursday night games in Round 1, 12, 13, 14, and 15.

All Thursday games, following the traditional opening round Richmond-Carlton clash, will be held outside of Victoria, with one in Perth and Sydney, and two at Adelaide Oval.

The reasoning for the clumping of Thursday night matches throughout Rounds 12-15 is due to club requirements for a six day break between games.

Each team will only receive one bye in 2015, with six teams taking a rest each week through Rounds 11 to 13.

The key addition to the 2015 fixture is the return of the Saturday afternoon ‘blockbuster’ match.

Saturday night fixtures in the eastern states have received a slight tweak, being pushed back by 20 minutes to a start time of 7:20pm (AEST).

South Australia and Western Australia will keep their current start time of 7:10pm (ACST) and 5:40pm (AWST) respectively.

Good Friday football will not feature in 2015 after being approved as a potential addition.


The decision has been made to scrap the Sunday night fixture following underwhelming crowds to the fixtures in 2014.

The April 2 start date for the 2015 season means that no fixtures will clash with the 2015 Cricket World Cup, allowing the AFL full access to grounds across the country.

The weighting of teams featuring on the desirable Friday night fixture has maintained its traditional staring acts, with Richmond topping the count gaining seven for the season. Carlton and Collingwood will each play six, while Geelong and Hawthorn will play four.

Brisbane, Gold Coast, Greater Western Sydney and the Western Bulldogs are the only teams to not earn a Friday night appearance.

View the full fixture for the 2015 AFL season, here.