The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Cup 2014: Who won, who came last

Protectionist crosses the finish line to win the 2014 Melbourne Cup. Who is primed to take out this year's edition? (AAP Image/Tracey Nearmy)
4th November, 2014

The 2014 Melbourne Cup has been won by Protectionist, with Red Cadeaux in second, and Who Shot Thebarman in third, with Signoff running fourth. Last place was favourite Admire Rakti, who was hurt during the race and later sadly passed away.

The German horse has claimed the Melbourne Cup, continuing the streak of internationals coming to win Australia’s richest race.

Jockey Ryan Moore had Protectionist positioned nicely around the final turn, and strode through to win Andreas Wohler his first Melbourne Cup, the first by a German horse.

For Red Cadeaux, it was the third time he’s run second in four years, but he will be disappointed at not getting a victory in what will surely be his last run in the Cup.

My Ambivalent held the lead for much of the race, wanting to run early, moving out to a four-length lead at the mid-point in the race. She tried to set a pace far too fast and compounded badly.

It was the second fastest running of the race in 20 years, and the fastest since Media Puzzle won in 2002.

Admire Rakti was last – The favourite faded late in the race, after being in reasonable position around the turn. Jockey Zac Purton, concerned for the horse’s welfare, pulled up on the horse and walked it across the line to finish last.

Tragically, the Japanese stallion died after the race, collapsing in his stall after returning from the track. It’s a terribly sad turn of events, and his connections will be devastated, as are all admirers of the horse. Rest in peace.

You can read the full story on that tragedy here.


Results from NSW TAB:
First: Protectionist $8.20
Second: Red Cadeaux $5.60
Third: Who Shot Thebarman $3.30
Fourth: Signoff –
Last: Admire Rakti

Exacta: $154.30
Quinella: $92.70
Trifecta: $2202.40
First Four: $18884.00
Full Melbourne Cup finishing order:

1 Protectionist Ryan Moore 56.5 0 8
2 Red Cadeaux G Mosse 57 4 21
3 Who Shot Thebarman G Boss 55 4.5 21
4 Signoff J Moreira 51 6 8
5 Willing Foe J B Mc Donald 55 7 31
6 Precedence M Rodd 54.5 8 81
7 Araldo D Dunn 53 9.3 21
8 Au Revoir G Schofield 53.5 10.8 71
9 Seismos C Newitt 56 12.6 91
10 Fawkner Nicholas Hall 57 13 8.5
11 Opinion T Angland 53.5 15.3 71
12 Gatewood W Buick 55 15.4 61
13 Lucia Valentina K Mc Evoy 53 15.7 7
14 Mutual Regard D Oliver 55 17.5 9
15 Brambles L Nolen 54 20.8 81
16 Unchain My Heart D Yendall 51.5 23.6 101
17 My Ambivalent A Atzeni 54.5 24.9 31
18 Junoob J Bowman 55.5 28.9 21
19 Lidari B Melham 53.5 31.9 71
20 Royal Diamond S W Arnold 55.5 47.9 101
21 Mr O’Ceirin C Schofield 54 48.3 201
22 Admire Rakti Z Purton 58.5 73.3 5.5
Scratched Cavalryman N/A 57 N/A N/A
Scratched Sea Moon N/A 56.5 N/A N/A