The Roar
The Roar


Full Australian team for first Test against India: Clarke to play

Michael Clarke is set to return to the Australian set up. (AAP Image/Dave Hunt)
8th December, 2014

Australian skipper Michael Clarke has been deemed to fit to play and will captain the side in the first Test match of the summer at the Adelaide Oval.

Australia’s most accomplished Test batsman, Clarke was battling to be fit for the match, after injuring his hamstring earlier this summer in the third ODI against South Africa.

He was originally ruled out of the first Test in Brisbane, but with the rescheduling of the Test summer after the death of Phillip Hughes, he has had an extra four days to prove his fitness for the Adelaide match.

More Cricket:
» LEMON: Hughes in the foreground as Test cricket begins
» Baggy Greens need to play hard but fair for 408
» Captain Clarke the man for the current climate
» MS Dhoni to miss first Test, Virat Kohli Indian captain

Clarke’s selection means the shadow batsman, Shaun Marsh, won’t be required for the fixture.

Two pace bowling all rounders, Mitchell Marsh and Shane Watson, have both been selected alongside three fast bowlers.

In-form NSW paceman Josh Hazlewood is the bowler to miss out, with Peter Siddle retaining his spot alongside Ryan Harris and Mitchell Johnson.

Along with the players dealing with the emotional stress of farewelling Phillip Hughes at his funeral last Wednesday coming into the match, there have also been several players dealing with various injuries.

Steve Smith has been battling a quad injury he picked up during the ODI series against South Africa, while Ryan Harris has only played one Shield match since his return to bowling. He was sidelined after the tour of South Africa earlier this year.


Captain Clarke completed a full session of running and various movement earlier today, giving the selectors the confidence to give him the go ahead for the Adelaide Test match.

Phillip Hughes has been named honorary 13th man for the fixture, as part of a series of tributes dedicated to the former Test batsman.

Australian team for the first Test against India:
David Warner, Chris Rogers, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (C), Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood (12th), Phillip Hughes (13th)