The Roar
The Roar


David Warner blasts his way into the Test record book

David Warner celebrates a century. (AFP PHOTO / Patrick Hamilton)
7th November, 2015
1160 Reads

Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting was the only Test batsman in history to score a century in each innings three times – until yesterday.

Australian vice captain David Warner’s superb 163 and 116 against New Zealand at the Gabba was his third double, adding to his 135 and 145 against South Africa at Cape Town and the 145 and 102 against India in Adelaide – both last year.

To underline just how rare the feat is Don Bradman, the greatest batsman of them all, only achieved it once – in 1948 against India at the MCG in 1948 with 132 and 127*.

But Sachin Tendulkar, with a world record 200 Tests and 51 centuries, never troubled the scorer with a century in each innings, nor did Viv Richards.

Australians lead the way with 21.

Warren Bardsley was the first in history in 1909 with his 135 and 130 against England at The Oval.

Invincible Arthur Morris was next in 1947 with 122 and 124* against England at Adelaide.

Then Jack Moroney’s 126 and 110 against South Africa at Johannesburg in 1950.

Bobby Simpson’s 153 and 115 against Pakistan at Karachi in 1964 was followed by Doug Walters’ 242 and 103 against the West Indies at the SCG in 1969, the first time a double and a century had been scored.


Then came another first, with brothers achieving the feat in the same Test when Ian and Greg Chappell scored 145 and 121 and 247* and 133 respectively against New Zealand at Wellington in 1969.

Greg backed up again in 1975 with 123 and 109* against the West Indies at the Gabba.

Then Allan Border did it twice, with 150* and 153 against Pakistan at Lahore in 1980, the first time 150 had been reached in both digs, plus 140 and 114* against New Zealand at Christchurch on the way to breaking Sunny Gavaskar’s world record 10,122 Test runs.

Ponting’s triple was 149 and 104* against the West Indies at the Gabba in 2005, the 120 and 143* against South Africa at the SCG and the 103 and 116 against South Africa at Durban, both in 2006.

Steve Waugh, Matt Hayden and the late Phil Hughes complete the Australian contingent.

Waugh scored 108 and 116 against England at Old Trafford in 1997, Hayden twice with 197 and 103 against England at the Gabba in 2002 and the 117 and 132 double against Sri Lanka at Cairns in 2004.

Phil Hughes’ 115 and 160 against South Africa at Durban in 2009 was, and still is, the youngest to achieve the feat.

That’s the Australian 21 with 11 West Indies batsmen, 10 Englishmen, nine Pakistanis, seven Indians and seven Sri Lankans, six South Africans, four Kiwis,and three Zimbabweans.


And don’t be surprised if David Warner stands alone with four sooner than later.