The Roar
The Roar


POLL: Who will win the 2016 NRL Premiership?

Cam Smith has been playing halfback and hooker. (AAP Image/Julian Smith)
16th August, 2016
1679 Reads

The NRL season has just three rounds left and the contenders to take out the premiership are emerging, while others are falling away at the back end. Roarers, This is your chance to have a say on who will win it all in 2016.

We will publish an article on Friday with the results from this early stage.

The Melbourne Storm are undoubtedly premiership favourites given their recent form and outstanding season so far, but other teams are building up behind them ready to strike.

The chasing pack appears to be led by the Cronulla Sharks who went on a famous 15-match winning streak, but have run into a few problems in the last couple of weeks.

They have lost two straight against the Canberra Raiders, and more worryingly the St George Illawarra Dragons, who are mathematically in contention to make the eight but realistically are no chance for the title.

Just on the Canberra Raiders, haven’t they been playing some strong footy in recent times? A drubbing of the Rabbitohs, the win against the Storm; they have crept all the way up to third and have to be taken seriously.

Then there is the Canterbury Bulldogs, and you have to wonder exactly what to make of them. Des Hasler always has his teams primed and ready for September, but whether they can string three or four games of consistency together remains to be seen.

The Queensland duo who contested last year’s grand final – the Brisbane Broncos and North Queensland Cowboys both look on the rocks as well. The Broncos have arrested a massive form slump in recent weeks with wins against the Parramatta Eels and Dragons, although you couldn’t be too sure about anything with wins against them.


The Cowboys rushed Johnathan Thurston back from injury and it hasn’t worked, as they went down to the Sydney Roosters on the weekend. The pressure is well and truly on them.

Then there are the Penrith Panthers, Gold Coast Titans with Jarryd Hayne, the New Zealand Warriors with Shaun Johnson and the Wests Tigers who are all battling to make the eight and while they should cause a surprise, probably won’t win the premiership.


Roarers, over to you though! Let us know in our poll and the comments below who you think will take out the premiership?

Don’t forget to leave a comment telling us who you think will win in the box below.