The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Rising vs Brisbane City NRC highlights: Rising win 46-28

The NRC is a vital pathway, but it can't come at the expense of viable Super Rugby franchises. (Photo Karen Watson)
Roar Guru
16th September, 2016

Match result:

Melbourne Rising have won a high-scoring game against Brisbane City on Saturday afternoon to make it two wins on the trot for the Victorian side.

Final score
Melbourne Rising 46
Brisbane City 28

Match preview:

Melbourne Rising will be looking to climb into the top four of the NRC table with a win over defending champions Brisbane City.

Coming off a close 2-point loss at the hands of the top of the table New South Wales Country Eagles, Melbourne Rising face another tough challenge in Brisbane City.

The Rising will be boosted by the returns of skipper Nic Stirzaker and winger Ah-Mu Tuimalealiifano, who were both withdrawn from the side late last week.

Eyes will be on Ikapote Tupai and Lloyd Johansson, who both make their first start for Melbourne Rising. Johansson will be playing alongside Tom English in the centre.

After suffering a big loss against the University of Canberra Vikings in their last game, Brisbane City need to find the form that saw them dominate 2015 to become the NRC champions.


City suffered a rough 52-20 loss against the Vikings, which has prompted coach Rob Seib to make many changes.

Criff Tupou will play blindside in his first NRC start, moving Isi Naisarani into no.8. Toby White returns to outside centre which moves Chirs Kuridrani to right wing.

The last time these two sides met was back in round two of the 2015 season. Brisbane City proved to be too much for the Rising, winning by 24 away from home.

Prediction: Brisbane City by 5

Kick-off: 3pm AEST
Venue: Harlequin Oval, Melbourne
Table position: Melbourne Rising fifth, Brisbane City sixth
Last meeting: Melbourne Rising 21 – 45 Brisbane City

MELBOURNE: Cruze Ah Nau, Pat Leafa, Tim Metcher, Sam Jeffries, Alex Toolis, Jordy Reid, Ikapote Tupai, Harley Fox, Nic Stirzaker, Ben Meehan, Ah-Mu Tuimalealiifano, Lloyd Johansson, Tom English, Jonah Placid, Jack Debreczeni.
Bench: Siliva, Tom Moloney, Tyrel Lomax, Steve Cummins, Rob Leota, Mick Snowden, Sione Tuipulotu, Isaiah Leota.

BRISBANE CITY: Pettowa Paraka, Andrew Ready, Sam Talakai (c), Luke Beauchamp, Lukhan Tui, Criff Tupou, Michael Gunn, Isi Naisarani, Nick Frisby, Jake McIntyre, Alex Gibbon, Patrick James, Toby White, Chris Kuridrani, Brad Lacey.
Bench: Matt Mafi, Markus Vanzati, Feao Fotuaika, Jeremiah Lynch, Tuaina Tualima, Moses Sorovi, Mitch Felsman, Brendan Mitchell.