2017 British and Irish Lions Tour squad announcement: Time, date, how to watch and all the other information you need to know

The Roar Roar Guru

By The Roar,


8 Have your say

    With the next British and Irish Lions tour fast approaching, the squad is set to be named on Wednesday, April 19 at 9pm (AEST).

    The press conference announcing the side for the ten-match is scheduled to start at 9pm (AEST).

    You’ll be able to stream the announcement on the Lions’ YouTube channel, and we’ll be live blogging the announcement, complete with a video feed, right here on The Roar.

    Coach Warren Gatland, who has been retained to lead the side after they beat the Wallabies 2-1 in their last tour back in 2013, will name a squad that is likely to be of a similar size to his 37-man squad of 2013.

    The 2017 trip to New Zealand is a ten-match tour, which sees one tour game against each of the Super Rugby teams, two more against a New Zealand Barbarians outfit and Maori team, as well as the three Tests against the All Blacks. You can find the full tour fixtures below.

    Gatland’s squad is likely to be captained by Sam Warburton for the second time in a row after he led the squad in 2013. This is despite reports he was almost ruled out of the tour due to injury.

    In other squad news, it has been reported that England national team captain Dylan Hartley is likely to be overlooked for the tour with Rory Best, Ken Owens and Jamie George the preferred hookers for the side.

    Full tour fixtures

    Date Time (AEST) Home Away Venue
    Sat Jun 3 5:35 PM New Zealand Barbarians British and Irish Lions Toll Stadium, Whangarei
    Wed Jun 7 5:35 PM Blues British and Irish Lions Eden Park, Auckland
    Sat Jun 10 5:35 PM Crusaders British and Irish Lions AMI Stadium, Christchurch
    Tue Jun 13 5:35 PM Highlanders British and Irish Lions Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
    Sat Jun 17 5:35 PM Maori All Blacks British and Irish Lions Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua
    Tue Jun 20 5:35 PM Chiefs British and Irish Lions Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
    Sat Jun 24 5:35 PM New Zealand British and Irish Lions Eden Park, Auckland
    Tue Jun 27 5:35 PM Hurricanes British and Irish Lions Westpac Stadium, Wellington
    Sat Jul 1 5:35 PM New Zealand British and Irish Lions Westpac Stadium, Wellington
    Sat Jul 8 5:35 PM New Zealand British and Irish Lions Eden Park, Auckland
    Do you find yourself logged out of The Roar?
    We have just switched over to a secure site (https). This means you will need to log-in afresh. If you need help with recovering your password, please get in contact.

    This video is trending right now! Submit your videos for the chance to win a share of $10,000!

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (8)

    • April 19th 2017 @ 6:55pm
      cuw said | April 19th 2017 @ 6:55pm | ! Report

    • April 19th 2017 @ 6:58pm
      Jock Cornet said | April 19th 2017 @ 6:58pm | ! Report

      Why watch super rugby? Can’t wait , this will be absolutely fantastic. Stuff our useless wallabies just watch all the Lions games.

    • April 19th 2017 @ 9:52pm
      cuw said | April 19th 2017 @ 9:52pm | ! Report

      British and Irish Lions squad:

      Backs: Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales, Elliot Daly – Wasps, England, Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, Leigh Halfpenny – Toulon, Wales, Robbie Henshaw – Leinster Rugby, Ireland Stuart Hogg – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, Jonathan Joseph – Bath Rugby, England Conor Murray – Munster Rugby, Ireland, George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England Jared Payne – Ulster Rugby, Ireland Jonathan Sexton – Leinster Rugby, Ireland, Tommy Seymour – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales Ben Youngs – Leicester Tigers, England

      Forwards: Rory Best – Ulster Rugby, Ireland, Dan Cole – Leicester Tigers, England, Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, Tadhg Furlong – Leinster Rugby, Ireland Jamie George – Saracens, England Iain Henderson – Ulster Rugby, Ireland Maro Itoje – Saracens, England Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales, George Kruis – Saracens, England Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England Joe Marler – Harlequins, England Jack McGrath – Leinster Rugby, Ireland Ross Moriarty – Gloucester Rugby, Wales Sean O’Brien – Leinster Rugby, Ireland, Lions Peter O’Mahony – Munster Rugby, Ireland Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England CJ Stander – Munster Rugby, Ireland Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales, Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, Billy Vunipola – Saracens, England Sam Warburton (Captain) – Cardiff Blues, Wales

      • April 19th 2017 @ 11:03pm
        Neil Back said | April 19th 2017 @ 11:03pm | ! Report

        Let’s just remember, given the highly competitive/combative nature of the remaining domestic games pre-tour and the likely touch ups in the pre-test warm ups, this squad come test time will likely look pretty different.

      • April 20th 2017 @ 1:04pm
        ajg said | April 20th 2017 @ 1:04pm | ! Report

        i am astonished as to how few scots are in this squad. how are there so many welsh players ahead of the scots? madness

    • April 20th 2017 @ 11:09am
      Jock Cornet said | April 20th 2017 @ 11:09am | ! Report

      There will be a lot of Lions injuries .

    • Roar Guru

      April 20th 2017 @ 4:43pm
      Mark Richmond said | April 20th 2017 @ 4:43pm | ! Report

      Llongyfarchiadau Sam Warburton, only the second person to captain 2 Lions tours, the other being Martin Johnson.

    • June 3rd 2017 @ 7:13am
      Roma said | June 3rd 2017 @ 7:13am | ! Report

      Can anyone tell me how to live stream tonight’s lions tour opening live game? We are in Qld and don’t have foxtel. I’m happy to pay to watch it. Thanks

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.