Australia vs Thailand kick-off time: World Cup qualifier start time, squads, game information and qualification scenarios

0 Have your say

    The Socceroos take on Thailand tonight in what could be their final World Cup qualifier for the 2018 tournament, with the kick-off time scheduled for 8pm (AEST).

    With Australia’s qualifying hopes hanging in the balance, here is everything you need to know about the crucial match.

    The game will be played at AAMI Park in Melbourne, with kickoff at 8pm (AEST).

    More FIFA World Cup
    » World Cup news
    » World Cup fixtures
    » World Cup squads
    » How to live stream the World Cup
    » Australian World Cup TV guide
    » World Cup history

    Key game information:

    Kick off time: 8pm (AEST)
    Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
    TV: Live, Fox Sports and 9Go
    Online: Foxtel Now, 9Now
    Betting: Australia – $1.06 Thailand – $26.00 Draw – $13.00

    Qualification scenarios

    Only the top two teams from each group automatically qualify for the World Cup, and with Australia sitting third in Group B, equal with Saudi Arabia on points but behind on goal difference, they will be desperate for a win.

    Such a result will see Australia make it through if the already-qualified Japan beat or draw with Saudi Arabia. An Australian draw will also be good enough to earn qualification in the event of a Japanese win.

    If Saudi Arabia win, Australia will need to beat Thailand by three goals more than the Saudis beat Japan by to climb into the top two. Draws in both matches will see Saudi Arabia qualify with Australia finishing in third.

    The Socceroos can also automatically qualify in the event of a loss, however that will rely on Saudi Arabia losing to Japan by three goals more than what Australia lose to Thailand by, and the United Arab Emirates not picking up a massive win (we’re talking by around five or six goals here) away against Iraq.

    If the Socceroos do finish third, then they’ll enter a series of two-legged playoffs to qualify for the World Cup. The first would be against the third-placed team from Group A in Asian qualifying – likely Syria or Uzbekistan – with the winner of that match-up then meeting the fourth-placed team from Central and North America America.


    Australia:Adam Federici, Eugene Galekovic, Mat Ryan, Milos Degenek, Alex Gersbach, Josh Risdon, Trent Sainsbury, Brad Smith, Matthew Spiranovic, Bailey Wright, Jackson Irvine, Mile Jedinak, James Jeggo, Massimo Luongo, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy, Tom Rogic, Nathan Burns, Craig Goodwin, Tomi Juric, Robbie Kruse, Mathew Leckie, Jamie Maclaren.

    Thailand: Kawin Thamsatchanan, Sinthaweechai Hathairattanakool, Sivarak Tedsungnern, Peerapat Notechaiya, Theerathon Bunmathan, Adison Promrak, Tristan Do, Phuttinun Wannasri, Manuel Tom Birh, Phansa Hemviboon, Chalermpong Kerdkaew, Philip Roller, Canathip Songkrasin, Wattana Playnum, Bodin Phala, Supachok Sarachat, Sarawat Detchmitr, Pokklaw A-Nan, Mongkol Thossakrai, Peeradon Chumratsamee, Thitiphan Puanjan, Nurul Sriyankem, Teerasil Dangda, Siroch Chatthong, Adisak Kraisorn

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    , , ,