The Roar
The Roar


Who won the Clive Churchill Medal at the 2017 NRL Grand Final

Billy Slater of the Storm celebrates with teammates after scoring a try during the NRL grand final between the Melbourne Storm and the North Queensland Cowboys at ANZ Stadium in Sydney, Sunday, October 1, 2017. (AAP Image/Dan Himbrechts)
1st October, 2017

Every year at the NRL Grand Final, the Clive Churchill Medal is awarded to the best-performed player in the match.

More 2017 NRL Grand Final
» Perfect Storm were always going to be premiers
» Match report: Storm slam Cowboys
» The Liebke ratings
» Five talking points from the match
» North Queensland Cowboys player ratings
» Melbourne Storm player ratings
» Watch video highlights from the match

At the 2017 NRL Grand Final, the Clive Churchill Medal winner was Billy Slater of the Melbourne Storm.

It was something of a shock result with the majority opinion after the match being that Cameron Smith would cap off a brilliant year with one last medal.

However Slater, who scored Melbourne’s third try of the game just before the halftime break, was given the award instead.

It was the icing on top of a remarkable year for him, coming back from a longterm injury that ruined his 2016.

He said after the match that there were times he was unsure if he would be able to make it back to highest level.

Now he has not only made it back, but won a premiership medal and a Clive Churchill medal to boot.

A dominant Melbourne Storm team had a thoroughly deserved result in the grand final six tries to one leading them to record a 34-6 win over the North Queensland Cowboys and claim the 2017 premiership.


Josh Addo-Carr scored two tries in the match, the other coming through Felise Kaufusi, Billy Slate, Dale Finucane and Curtis Scott recording the other four. Cameron Smith converted five of the six tries.

Te Maire Martin scored the Cowboys’ only try of the match and it was converted by Ethan Lowe.