Australian team announced for International Rules Series

Johann Leffler Roar Pro

17 Have your say

    Next month, Gaelic footballers from Ireland will travel to face the best of the AFL in the 20th iteration of the International Rules Series.

    The 17-man Australian team was announced this morning. They will be led by Geelong coach Chris Scott.

    The series will be played as a two-test format for the first time since 2013. The first match will be played at the Adelaide Oval on November 12, and the second will be hosted at Domain stadium in Perth on November 18.

    Australia and Ireland began facing off in International Rules football in 1984. The format has undergone a few changes over the years.

    From 1984-1990 it was played as a three-test series. After a brief hiatus, it was revived as a two-test series in 1998 and remained in that format until 2013.

    2014 and 2015 saw the series played as a one-off test.

    Ireland captured the Cormac McAnallen trophy in 2015 with a win in Dublin. The all-time series stands at 10-9 in favour of Ireland.

    The match will also be the last AFL event held at Domain Stadium, with the new Perth Stadium scheduled for completion in 2018.

    Australia team to play Ireland

    Gary Ablett (Gold Coast)
    Eddie Betts (Adelaide)
    Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
    Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn)
    Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)
    Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle)
    Brendon Goddard (Essendon)
    Toby Greene (Greater Western Sydney)
    Michael Hibberd (Melbourne)
    Rory Laird (Adelaide)
    Zac Merrett (Essendon)
    Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
    Paddy Ryder (Port Adelaide)
    Joel Selwood (Geelong)
    Rory Sloane (Adelaide)
    Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)
    Dayne Zorko (Brisbane Lions)

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (17)

    • October 12th 2017 @ 11:23am
      Carl said | October 12th 2017 @ 11:23am | ! Report

      Double Sloane! Have they recruited Dr Stephen Dank as the team doctor?!!

      Looks a very good squad of players. But will AFL fans take much notice?

      • Roar Pro

        October 12th 2017 @ 11:43am
        Johann Leffler said | October 12th 2017 @ 11:43am | ! Report

        Whoops! Updated the post, good catch

    • October 12th 2017 @ 12:40pm
      Perry Bridge said | October 12th 2017 @ 12:40pm | ! Report

      Glad the got the A to Z of AFL players in there.

    • October 12th 2017 @ 12:48pm
      Mat said | October 12th 2017 @ 12:48pm | ! Report

      Another hiding coming up for our boys????

      • October 12th 2017 @ 1:34pm
        republican said | October 12th 2017 @ 1:34pm | ! Report

        The hybrid is heavily weighted toward the Gaelic version.
        The Irish will always have a huge advantage over us, unless they compromise one or two traits, i.e. the pill, to realise more equity………

        • October 13th 2017 @ 10:29am
          Deir-ba-zor said | October 13th 2017 @ 10:29am | ! Report

          Id say trading the shape of the ball for the right to tackle is a good trade off.

    • October 12th 2017 @ 12:53pm
      Timmuh said | October 12th 2017 @ 12:53pm | ! Report

      THIS is when Origin could and should be played.
      Every second year, IR, SoO in the other years.

      • October 12th 2017 @ 1:35pm
        republican said | October 12th 2017 @ 1:35pm | ! Report

        ………to be sure Timmuh……..

      • Roar Guru

        October 12th 2017 @ 5:51pm
        Cat said | October 12th 2017 @ 5:51pm | ! Report

        No thanks.

    • Roar Pro

      October 12th 2017 @ 1:06pm
      Darren M said | October 12th 2017 @ 1:06pm | ! Report

      Hmm… are we sure these players want to play? How many will be late withdrawals? Games in just Adelaide and Perth also seem unusual. I suspect maybe 20,000 will turn up to each of them.

    • October 12th 2017 @ 1:39pm
      republican said | October 12th 2017 @ 1:39pm | ! Report

      ……..I say this year in year out, why do the AFL persist with this laborious non event (with all respect to my family in Tipperary)?
      Is it perhaps the cringe persuasion that has infiltrated our governing body. These are the ones who struggle to value our indigenous code as a successful and robust domestic product and who would compromise its cultural DNA to ensure it devolves pseudo international integral to some pie in the sky commercial tv agenda?

      • Roar Pro

        October 12th 2017 @ 3:40pm
        Darren M said | October 12th 2017 @ 3:40pm | ! Report

        I suspect that as long as the Socceroos make the World Cup, and Sydneysiders mock the All Australian selection while their Kangaroos and Wallabies play tests, the AFL will continue to attempt to validate selecting a national representative side.

        • October 12th 2017 @ 5:14pm
          republican said | October 12th 2017 @ 5:14pm | ! Report

          …….the fact is that despite the international status of these Mac Donaldesque codes, our indigenous game remains the most popular of all.
          Hypothetically, if our game were to ever realise pseudo international status, it would not increase its profile or appeal one iota domestically, unless you consider being the new addition to the glut of the Fox et el sports entertainment menu is about real exposure.
          Suffice to say, any ‘globalising’ of our game would render it less appealing, since the game would then be forced to compromise its cultural and intellectual property if you like, to appease global market forces dictated by uncompromising international tele behemoths.
          The Australian game would cease to be that quintessential institution that so many of us love, simply because of its uniqueness in an otherwise homogenised commodity driven world.
          It would be a travesty to see our footy code commercially dumbed down, which it already is to some degree, while many of us seem to be completely naive to this fact by taking the true value of our game for granted………

        • November 9th 2017 @ 11:36pm
          Dylan said | November 9th 2017 @ 11:36pm | ! Report

          You guys are awesome

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    , , , ,