2017 Melbourne Cup final field

The Roar Roar Guru

By The Roar,


0 Have your say

    The countdown to the 2017 Melbourne Cup is almost at an end. If you’re looking to find the field that will take part in the biggest race on the Australian calendar, you’ve come to the right place.

    More 2017 Melbourne Cup
    » Race report: Rekindling wins
    » Who came last
    » Complete finishing order
    » Watch video highlights replay
    » Re-live the race with our live blog
    » Regal Monarch’s horror fall
    » Winning trifecta and quinella
    » Winning exact and first four

    The full field of 24 horses was named on Saturday after the Victoria Derby, and they were all then assigned barriers for the Melbourne Cup shortly after that.

    However, the field has already been knocked down to 23 after Who Shot Thebarman was scratched from the race on Sunday due to an elevated temperature.

    Scratchings ahead of the Melbourne Cup aren’t uncommon, in fact it’s probably more normal than not to see one or two horses out of the race late.

    If there are any further scratchings ahead of the race we will update this post immediately to reflect that fact. As of noon AEDT on Tuesday 7 November, three hours before the race, this is the final field for the 2017 Melbourne Cup.

    2017 Melbourne Cup field

    No. Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Barrier
    1 Hartnell James Cummings Damian Lane 57.5kg 12
    2 Almandin Robert Hickmott Frankie Dettori 56.5kg 14
    3 Humidor Darren Weir Blake Shinn 56kg 13
    4 Tiberian Alain Couetil OlivierPeslier 55.5kg 23
    5 Marmelo Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman 55kg 16
    6 Red Cardinal Andreas Wohler Kerrin McEvoy 55kg 24
    7 Johannes Vermeer Aidan O’Brien Ben Melham 54.5kg 3
    8 Bondi Beach Robert Hickmott Michael Walker 54kg 1
    9 Max Dynamite William Mullins Zac Purton 54kg 2
    10 Ventura Storm David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Glen Boss 54kg 6
    11 Who Shot Thebarman Chris Waller Tommy Berry 54kg 20
    12 Wicklow Brave William Mullins Stephen Baster 54kg 8
    13 Big Duke Darren Weir Brenton Avdulla 53.5kg 5
    14 US Army Ranger Joseph O’Brien Jamie Spencer 53.5kg 22
    15 Boom Time David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 53kg 9
    16 Gallante Robert Hickmott Michael Dee 53kg 18
    17 Libran Chris Waller Dwayne Dunn 53kg 7
    18 Nakeeta Iain Jardine Glyn Schofield 53kg 19
    19 Single Gaze Nick Olive Kathy O’Hara 53kg 11
    20 Wall of Fire Hugo Palmer Craig Williams 53kg 15
    21 Thomas Hobson William Mullins Ben Allen 52kg 21
    22 Rekindling Joseph O’Brien Corey Brown 51.5kg 4
    23 Amelie’s Star Darren Weir Dean Yendall 51kg 10
    24 Cismontane Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Beau Mertens 50kg 17

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.