Australia make three changes ahead of Women’s Ashes T20s

Scott Pryde Roar Guru

0 Have your say

    Australia has made a trio of changes ahead of their T20 matches with England in the women’s Ashes.

    After drawing the Test match at North Sydney Oval, Australia will bring Sarah Aley, Delissa Kimmince and Molly Strano into the squad, to replace opening batter Nicole Bolton, as well as bowlers Lauren Cheatle and Tahlia McGrath.

    McGrath was superb with the ball in the Test, Bolton appeared solid at the top of the order, while Cheatle didn’t play in the four-day fixture.

    Australia lead the Ashes six points to four, having won two ODIs and drawn the Test, and only need two more points to retain the trophy, meaning England must win all three T20s.

    National selector Shawn Flegler said the squad needed to be freshened up.

    “It’s been a long tour for some of the younger players, so the selectors have opted to add some fresh legs to the side, all of which have previous experience at international level,” said Flegler.

    “We have been really pleased with the way Tahlia has played in the series and as she continues to develop her T20 skills we think she will be an important member of the side.

    “Lauren has been ruled out with a back injury, she underwent scans yesterday and we are awaiting the results for more detail.

    “It’s great to see Delissa back in the side having last played for Australia in 2014, she’s a very handy bowler who will also add extra depth to the middle order.

    “Molly was impressive with her off-spin bowling during Australia’s T20 series against New Zealand earlier this year, while Sarah will be hoping to make her T20 debut after being handed her one-day cap during the 50-over World Cup this year.”

    Women’s Ashes squad for T20 matches
    Sarah Aley, NSW
    Alex Blackwell, NSW
    Ashleigh Gardner, SA
    Rachael Haynes, NSW (c)
    Alyssa Healy, NSW
    Jess Jonassen, QLD
    Delissa Kimmince, QLD
    Beth Mooney, QLD
    Ellyse Perry, NSW
    Megan Schutt, SA
    Molly Strano, VIC
    Elyse Villani, WA
    Amanda-Jade Wellington, SA

    Series results and fixtures
    First ODI – Australia won by 2 wickets
    Second ODI – Australia won by 75 runs (D/L method)
    Third ODI – England won by 20 runs (D/L method)
    Test – match drawn

    First T20 – Friday, November 17 at North Sydney Oval (7:10pm AEDT)
    Second T20 – Sunday, November 19 at Manuka Oval, Canberra (2:35pm AEDT)
    Third T20 – Tuesday, November 21 at Manuka Oval, Canberra (7:10pm AEDT)

    The Roar will carry live coverage of each of the T20 matches.

    Scott Pryde
    Scott Pryde

    One of the mainstays of The Roar, Scott Pryde has written over 1200 articles covering everything from rugby league to basketball, from tennis to cricket. You can follow him on Twitter @sk_pryde.

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    , , ,