Howe hopes for AFL mark of the year review


 , ,

13 Have your say

    Collingwood star Jeremy Howe is hopeful the AFL will change its mark of the year judging process after his controversial snub in this year’s award.

    Howe’s spectacular grab over Melbourne’s Tom McDonald was widely lauded as the most brilliant mark of the season, but Essendon’s Joe Daniher won the award, which is voted on by the public.

    Magpies president Eddie McGuire quickly called for an overhaul of the system after the Brownlow Medal ceremony snub that left Howe visibly stunned.

    “Nuh,” Howe replied with a laugh when asked if he was over the shock result on Monday.

    “No, I am, but there’s not much you can do about it. I’ll just have to go harder next year.

    “Word from above is that they’re going to change it to a (judging) panel – it’s not going to be voted on by the public – but we’ll see.

    “It’s all fun and games … Joey’s a great player and he takes good grabs, so I’ll just have to go higher next year.”

    The AFL are reviewing the judging process for the mark and goal of the year awards and are yet to make a public announcement on any potential changes.

    Howe and the rest of the playing squad returned to full pre-season training on Monday.

    Injured skipper Scott Pendlebury was a limited participant as he recovers from a broken finger suffered in the international rules series.

    Daniel Wells was also limited but he will be managed through pre-season after he only managed 10 games last season.

    The former North Melbourne star was criticised 12 months ago for showing up out of shape, but the club is happy with the way he has presented this pre-season.

    Jamie Elliott was a notable absentee as he recovers from ankle surgery that will keep him from full training until late January.

    He will return to the club next week when he will meet with the leadership group to discuss his recent arrest for public drunkenness.

    © AAP 2018
    Do you find yourself logged out of The Roar?
    We have just switched over to a secure site (https). This means you will need to log-in afresh. If you need help with recovering your password, please get in contact.

    This video is trending right now! Submit your videos for the chance to win a share of $10,000!

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (13)

    • November 20th 2017 @ 3:29pm
      Birdman said | November 20th 2017 @ 3:29pm | ! Report

      I thought Collingwood was the biggest club in the land? Did some of the faithful vote for Daniher?

      • November 20th 2017 @ 4:50pm
        Peter the Scribe said | November 20th 2017 @ 4:50pm | ! Report

        No Birdman we wrongly assumed that a prestigious award like this would not have been hijacked by the AFL marketing department as a click bait online poll, instead of having a committee decide it. Most Pies fans didn’t even know it was a poll award.

        • November 22nd 2017 @ 5:52am
          Slane said | November 22nd 2017 @ 5:52am | ! Report

          Ahhh, so Collingwood supporters haven’t paid attention to the award for years. Got it.

        • Roar Guru

          November 22nd 2017 @ 8:50am
          Cat said | November 22nd 2017 @ 8:50am | ! Report

          It’s only prestigious if it’s the only thing your club has to show for the year.

    • November 20th 2017 @ 7:53pm
      Hungry Jack said | November 20th 2017 @ 7:53pm | ! Report

      Pies fans were too disillusioned with the season to bother with footy post Round 23.

    • November 20th 2017 @ 10:59pm
      Stephen said | November 20th 2017 @ 10:59pm | ! Report

      Not sure what happened. But the best mark of the year – Howe’s – was strangely not awarded.

      • November 21st 2017 @ 1:34am
        Beny Iniesta said | November 21st 2017 @ 1:34am | ! Report

        The public voted and disagreed.

        Can’t get more democratic than that – certainly better than any other method.

        The last thing we need is elitists telling us what’s what and what’s best.

    • November 21st 2017 @ 9:25am
      Harsh Truth Harry said | November 21st 2017 @ 9:25am | ! Report

      I’m a Bomber fan and it is ridiculous Howe didn’t beat Joey….hey Beny Iniesta what next have the public decide the Brownlow??? Come off it….we want our prestigious awards from experts not a fan vote!

      • November 22nd 2017 @ 8:04am
        Pope Paul VII said | November 22nd 2017 @ 8:04am | ! Report

        Spot on Hazza

    • November 21st 2017 @ 12:56pm
      Bretto said | November 21st 2017 @ 12:56pm | ! Report

      Well said Harry – let’s leave one eyed support out of this. Howe’s mark was clearly best.
      Beny – the flip side would be the Pies supporters getting together to screw the vote – that would also be unacceptable.

    • November 21st 2017 @ 3:04pm
      GJ said | November 21st 2017 @ 3:04pm | ! Report

      In the last Rugby WC in England someone thought it would be a good idea to trail a twitter poll to decide MOTM. Not sure if it was the only game, however it was stopped after the clash between England and Australia. Australia won the game convincingly.

      And, from the people who gave us Boaty McBoatface I am sure you can guess it may have been a spud from the English team who was awarded MOTM.

      • November 21st 2017 @ 4:29pm
        Harsh Truth Harry said | November 21st 2017 @ 4:29pm | ! Report

        yeah don’t throw this stuff out to the Public…many are not clear on the rules of the game for petes sake!

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    , ,