The Roar
The Roar


2017 Sydney to Hobart start time: When does the race start? Date, route, full field, broadcast information

CYCA Trophy Series 2013 - Wild Oats XI chases Giacomo (Image: Mark Richmond)
25th December, 2017

The 2017 Sydney to Hobart yacht race will see a field of more than 100 boats including a number of former champions make the treacherous journey south. It is scheduled to start on Sydney Harbour at 1pm (AEDT) on Boxing Day – Tuesday, December 26.

Sydney to Hobart live blog

Last year’s line honours champions Perpetual Loyal have been renamed Infotrack under the ownership of Christian Beck and will be looking to defend the crown.

They will face stiff opposition in 2015 champions Commance, formerly an American yacht, has been bought by Jim Cooney and is now an Australian registered yacht and eight-time line honours victors Wild Oats XI.

Key event information: Sydney to Hobart 2017

Start time: Tuesday, December 26 – 1pm (AEDT)
Start location: Sydney Harbour
Finish location: Castray Esplanade, River Derwent, Hobart
Distance: 628 nautical miles
TV: First hour – Channel 7
Online: Plus 7 (first hour), race tracker
2016 line honours winner: Perpetual Loyal – now Infotrack
2016 handicap winner: Giacomo – now Wizard

Full field

Yacht name State/Country (if not Aus) Yacht type
Abracadabra NSW Tripp 47
Allegro NSW Warwick 67
Another Painkiller QLD Beneteau 44.7
Arch Rival NSW Jones 39
Ariel NSW Beneteau First 40
Banque de Nouvelle Caledonia New Caledonia Valer / JPK 10.80
Beau Geste Hong Kong Botin 80
Black Jack QLD RP100
Black Sheep NSW Beneteau 45
Blunderbuss VIC Beneteau First 40
Calibre NSW Sydney 38
Celestial NSW TP 52
Chancellor NSW Beneteau 47.7
Charlie’s Dream QLD Bluewater 450
Checkmate of Hollywood USA Peterson 50
China Easyway NSW Jarkan 12.5
Christopher Dragon USA Sydney 43
Chutzpah VIC Caprice 40
Climate Action Now NSW Hick 50
Concubine SA Mills 45
Dare Devil NSW Farr/Cookson 47
Dare to Lead Great Britain Clipper 70
Dark and Stormy VIC Custom 37
Derucci China TP52
Dorade USA S&S Yawl
Duende NSW JV52
ENVY Scooters Beachball 52 QLD TP 52
Enchantress SA Muirhead 11
Enigma NSW Beneteau First 47.7
Euphoria II QLD Beneteau First 42
Eve NSW Swan 65
Extasea VIC DK 46
Flying Fish Arctos NSW McIntyre 55
Freyja NSW Atkins Ingrid
GBP Yeah Baby NSW Welbourn 50
GREAT Britain Great Britain Clipper 70
Garmin Great Britain Clipper 70
Grace O’Malley NSW Cookson 12
Gun Runner NSW Jarkan
Hartbreaker VIC Reichel Pugh 46
Helsal 3 NSW Adams 20
Highfield Caringbah NSW TP52
Hollywood Boulevard NSW Farr 55 Great Britain Clipper 70
Ichi Ban NSW Botin 52
Imalizard NSW Welbourn 12
Indian WA Carkeek 47
Infotrack NSW Juan-K 100
Invictus Games 2018 Down Under United Kingdom Clipper 68
Invictus Games 2018 Game On United Kingdom Clipper 68
Jazz Player VIC Bakewell-White 39
Khaleesi NSW DK46
Kialoa II NSW S&S Yawl
Koa NSW Tp52
Komatsu Azzurro NSW S & S 34
LDV Comanche NSW 100 Supermaxi
Liverpool 2018 Great Britain Clipper 70
M3 WA TP52
Magic Miles TAS Dynamique 62
Maluka NSW Ranger
Mascalzone Latino 32 Italy Cookson 50
Mayfair QLD Beneteau First 40
Merlin NSW Kaiko 52
Merlion VIC Beneteau 40.7
Mister Lucky QLD Jeanneau Sun Fast 3600
Mondo QLD Sydney 38
Nasdaq Great Britain Clipper 70
Ocean Gem QLD Beneteau 445
Opt2Go Scamp QLD Beneteau First 45
Oskana TAS Cookson 50
PSP Logistics Great Britain Clipper 70
PYR-ArnoldCo/Wot Eva NSW Nelson Marek 52
Patrice NSW Ker 46
Pekljus NSW Radford 50
Qingdao Great Britain Clipper 70
Quest NSW Farr Tp 52
Ran Tan II New Zealand Elliott 50
Reve NSW Benteau 45F5
Rockall Germany TP52
SailDNA NSW Farr 50
Sanya Serenity Coast Great Britain Clipper 70
Seamo Racing Mahligai NZ Sydney 46
She QLD Olsen 40
She’s The Culprit NSW Inglis /Jones 39
Smuggler NSW Rogers 46
Snowdome Occasional Coarse Language Too NSW Sydney GTS 43
Sonic South Korea TP52 Donovan
St Jude NSW Sydney 47
TSA Management NSW Sydney 38
Takani NSW Hanse 495
Triple Lindy USA Cookson 50
Triton NSW LC60
Unicef Great Britain Clipper 70
Vanishing Point NSW Beneteau 57
Visit Seattle Great Britain Clipper 70
Warrior Won USA XP44
Wax Lyrical NSW X 50
Weddell Poland Grand Mistral 80
Wild Oats X NSW Reichel Pugh
Wild Oats XI NSW RP100
Wizard USA Volvo 70
Wots Next NSW Sydney 47

Broadcast information


The first hour of the race will be broadcast live on the seven network. Their coverage will begin half an hour before the official race start at 12:30pm (AEDT) and run until 2pm (AEDT).

Given it’s impossible to cover the whole race as the fleet race for well over 24 hours on the open ocean and overnight, the coverage will take in the important exit of Sydney Harbour.

To stream the first hour of the race, you will need to use either the 7 Live website or mobile application.

Once the TV coverage ends, the best way to follow the race will be on the official tracker, which is available on the race website.

This will give you up-to-date information on every yacht in the field, as well as all the latest news updates.

Here at The Roar, we will also cover the race with rolling updates on our live blog from start to finish.