City achieve the threepeat, defeating Sydney 2-0 in W-League grand final

Stuart Thomas Columnist

By Stuart Thomas, Stuart Thomas is a Roar Expert

 , , ,

19 Have your say

    Melbourne City have won their third W-League title, defeating Sydney FC at Allianz Stadium on a sapping afternoon.

    The best team in W-League history did it the hard way, coming from fourth position on the ladder yet took all before them in the semi-final series with wins against the minor premiers Brisbane and the consistent Sydney, who had not been beaten in three months.

    Jess Fishlock was the key for the visitors with a goal in the first half after an error at the back from Sydney’s defence where the keeper was caught off the line. Fishlock chipped expertly and City held the lead into the break.

    The lead was doubled in the second half from a free kick that Fishlock almost converted, only to see the Sydney keeper parry the ball onto the post. Jodie Taylor was nearby to convert the goal and the match was essentially over with the heat tiring the players and making expansive play difficult.

    City ground out the game well and stifled the attacks of Sydney, eventually creating a few late chances of their own.

    What a wonderful achievement for City, notching up three successive championships is an astonishing effort. Well played to Sydney who were gallant throughout the contest but 2018 belongs to Melbourne City FC.

    Final score

    Sydney FC 0
    Melbourne City 2

    Stuart Thomas
    Stuart Thomas

    Stuart Thomas is a sports writer and educator who made the jump from Roar Guru to Expert in 2017. An ex-trainee professional golfer, his sporting passions are broad with particular interests in football, AFL and rugby league. His love of sport is only matched by his passion for gardening and self-sustainability. Follow him on Twitter @stuartthomas72.

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (19)

    • Roar Pro

      February 18th 2018 @ 8:26pm
      anon said | February 18th 2018 @ 8:26pm | ! Report

      What was the crowd like?

      • February 19th 2018 @ 7:11am
        punter said | February 19th 2018 @ 7:11am | ! Report

        They were fun & happy, no sign of violence.

        • Columnist

          February 19th 2018 @ 10:11am
          Stuart Thomas said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:11am | ! Report

          A couple of them were drinking Punter……..disgraceful!

      • February 19th 2018 @ 10:28am
        Nemesis said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:28am | ! Report

        What was the crowd like?

        Well behaved.
        No drunks.
        No one bashed anyone because they can’t hold their liquor.
        No one threw bananas at Indigenous players.
        No one had anti-Muslim banners.

        Basically the opposite to an AFL crowd.

    • February 18th 2018 @ 9:38pm
      jupiter53 said | February 18th 2018 @ 9:38pm | ! Report

      As you say Stuart the first goal came from an excellent shot from Fishlock with Sydney’s keeper “caught off the line”. However at the ground it looked as though a substantial contribution to this was a foul on Bledsoe knocking her to the ground as she initially cleared the ball. Cue calls around me for “VAR, VAR!”

      It was good to be part of a decent sized crowd. Melbourne City were certainly the better functioning team on the day, with Sydney not able to fill the substantial hole left by Caitlin Foord’s injury last week. I always enjoy watching Teresa Polias; she was tremendous in the losing team.

      • Roar Guru

        February 18th 2018 @ 11:46pm
        Grobbelaar said | February 18th 2018 @ 11:46pm | ! Report

        Clear foul, that first goal should not have been allowed.

        Usually the keepers are treated like sacred cows and you can’t even breathe on them, so very strange that not one official saw anything wrong with the keeper getting bowled over from behind.

        Having said that, Fishlock did very well to neatly place it over the keeper into the empty net.

        • Roar Guru

          February 19th 2018 @ 8:30am
          Wayne said | February 19th 2018 @ 8:30am | ! Report

          Watching it on replay, they justified it with the keeper ran into the City players line (rather than the City player taking out the GK).

          Blame could be assigned to Yemon-Dale for losing possession coming out of defence.

          • Columnist

            February 19th 2018 @ 10:09am
            Stuart Thomas said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:09am | ! Report

            I agree Wayne, for some reason the keeper darted right in an effort to stay in her area, even though she had let the ball go and thus initiated contact. Simon actually reaches back to the keeper in concern as she was trying to avoid her. One of those moments where incidental contact occurs.

            • Roar Guru

              February 19th 2018 @ 10:24am
              Grobbelaar said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:24am | ! Report

              The keeper shouldn’t have to be worrying about an opponent behind her, she gets knocked over, and usually, accidental or not, you can’t knock over the keeper. The net was empty because an opponent knocked her over.

    • February 18th 2018 @ 10:18pm
      Waz said | February 18th 2018 @ 10:18pm | ! Report

      Congrats to City, undoubtedly a finals club in the W League.

      Coming from 4th to be crowned champions for the second season running though kinda brings the whole finals system in to question – they’re undoubtedly popular with fans and viewers but when they regularly throw up questionable champions it’s probably time to say goodbye to them.

      • Roar Guru

        February 19th 2018 @ 8:31am
        Wayne said | February 19th 2018 @ 8:31am | ! Report

        Australian Sport has finals. BBL has same 1v4/2v3 format.

        The only alternative (keeping finals) is either a 1v2/3v4 format or 1v(2v3) format.

    • Roar Guru

      February 18th 2018 @ 11:18pm
      Cousin Claudio said | February 18th 2018 @ 11:18pm | ! Report

      There are plenty of unused rectangular stadiums in Australia at this time of the year, particularly unused rugby grounds, so why did Victorian Rules throw their fiIthy AFLX money at Hindmarsh Stadium before an Adelaide A-League game and then Allianz Stadium the night before the A-League Womens’ grand final?

      Adelaide Oval and the Sydney Cricket Ground right next door, the Swans home ground, were available.

    • Roar Guru

      February 18th 2018 @ 11:54pm
      Grobbelaar said | February 18th 2018 @ 11:54pm | ! Report

      Record crowd for a W-League attendance today, going off memory, I think it was 6,025.

      Another win for women’s sport in Australia.

      • Columnist

        February 19th 2018 @ 10:11am
        Stuart Thomas said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:11am | ! Report

        I thought there might be a few more there Grobbelaar yet I didn’t know what to expect really. Looked a good atmosphere though and certainly a nice game of football to watch despite the heat.

        • Roar Guru

          February 19th 2018 @ 10:18am
          Grobbelaar said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:18am | ! Report

          It’s a record, you can’t ask for much more than to break the record.

    • Roar Guru

      February 19th 2018 @ 10:25am
      Grobbelaar said | February 19th 2018 @ 10:25am | ! Report

      The W-league Grand Final attendance in Sydney was 6,025 at Allianz Stadium. This was up 21.7% on the 4,591 who attended nib Stadium in Perth for last seasons W-league decider. This is a new record for the W-league Grand Final. (previously held by 2016-17)

      7:10 AM – Feb 19, 2018

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    , , ,