The Roar
The Roar


It's time for a rugby revolution in the southern hemisphere

Aaron Smith of the Highlanders celebrates his try with team-mate Aki Seiuli during the round four Super Rugby match between the Highlanders and the Stormers Forsyth Barr Stadium on March 9, 2018 in Dunedin, New Zealand. (Photo by Dianne Manson/Getty Images)
18th May, 2018
5793 Reads

It’s time to have a decent rugby revolution.

It’s time to put SANZAAR out its misery trying to make constant Super Rugby format changes and at the same time let South Africa carry out its threat to play in Europe. With both gone, there’s no point in having the Rugby Championship.

And to complete the revolution, it’s time to introduce ANZAAP to The Roar – Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, and Pacific – to be the new Super Rugby.

But there’s a big difference to the old Super Rugby.

Argentina, Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, and Japan will make up the Pacific Conference, but all five will be international sides.

World Rugby will order all overseas players from those nations to return home, and in return will subsidise all five nations for five years so no player will lose out financially. All will be paid competitively with Australian and New Zealand sides.

Australia will have the Reds, Waratahs, Brumbies, Rebels, and the resurrected Western Force.

New Zealand will be unchanged with the Crusaders, Hurricanes, Highlanders, Chiefs, and the Blues.

The other big difference – the new Super Rugby will be totally fair with all 15 teams playing each other once, with first past the post the Super Rugby champions.


In the unlikely event of a points tie, the team with the most tries decides the champion.

The massive reduction in air travel for Australian and New Zealand sides will be far less taxing physically and mentally with just one trip to Japan, or Argentina, and reverse the next year.

The ANZAAP tournament will go into recess for the June window when three internationals will be played against northern hemisphere nations.

With the Rugby Championship deleted, at the completion of Super Rugby in August there will be three Bledisloe Cup clashes, and time off to prepare for the end-of-year international tours to the northern hemisphere.

Kurtley Beale makes a break

Kurtley Beale of the Wallabies (AAP Image/Dave Hunt)

Again there will be a big difference.

The All Blacks and Wallabies will embark on a Grand Slam tour against England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales every year, with their fifth international against France.

That’s the perfect way to end any rugby international year.


In time the Grand Slam will be raised to five, including France.

Summing up, the All Blacks and Wallabies will play 14 ANZAAP games, and 11 Tests in a year,

That’s more than enough, and will cut down on burn-out to lengthen careers.

It’s time the players were the top consideration, and not the greedy grab for cold hard by officialdom.