The Roar
The Roar


Rashid guides Hyderabad to IPL final

Rashid Khan of the Adelaide Strikers is one of this season's best stories. (AAP Image/David Mariuz)
Roar Guru
25th May, 2018

Despite a dashing innings of 48 from Kolkata Knight Riders’ Australian opener Chris Lynn, a brilliant all-round performance from Rashid Khan has propelled Sunrisers Hyderabad into the Indian Premier League final.

The Afghan teenager provided late fireworks with the bat and then returned with the ball to snub out Kolkata’s run chase in a thrilling 13-run victory in Qualifier 2.

The 19-year-old smashed an unbeaten 34 off ten balls to guide Hyderabad to 7-174 after they were put in to bat first in the playoffs at Eden Gardens.

Kolkata seemed to be cruising in their response before Rashid left them spellbound with his fast leg-spinners, claiming 3-19 in his four overs.

If that was not enough, Rashid was also involved in the run out of Nitish Rana and then took two catches under pressure while fielding close to the boundary rope in the final over.

Twice champions Kolkata could only manage 9-161 in their chase, with Queenslander Lynn the standout as he whacked six fours and two sixes in his 31-ball knock.

Hyderabad topped the table after the group stage but had lost their last four matches, including the qualifier to Chennai at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

They will have a chance to avenge that loss at the same venue in the final when they meet the twice champions, led by former India captain MS Dhoni and featuring another Aussie in Shane Watson.

Sunil Narine had given Kolkata a strong start with his 26 off 13 balls and with Lynn in good form, they looked in control.


But things changed quickly after Rashid’s throw from the deep found Rana short after the batsman had slipped while turning for the second run.

Robin Uthappa then found his stumps shattered by Rashid while trying to play a reverse sweep to the leg-spinner.

Kolkata lost captain Dinesh Karthik cheaply to left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan before Rashid dismissed Lynn and the dangerous Andre Russell.

Earlier, Hyderabad’s innings appeared to be heading for a below-par total when big-hitting batsman Yusuf Pathan departed, leaving them tottering on 7-138 with 11 deliveries left.

But Rashid then smashed four sixes and two boundaries in his knock as Kolkata fast bowler Prasidh Krishna conceded 24 runs in the final over of the innings.

Openers Wriddhiman Saha and Shikhar Dhawan had given the 2016 champions a brisk start with a partnership of 56 but left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Dhawan and then skipper Kane Williamson in his first over to peg Hyderabad back.

Kolkata’s spinners Narine and Piyush Chawla made run-scoring difficult for the Hyderabad batsmen on a sluggish pitch before Rashid’s late assault.