The Roar
The Roar


2018 FIFA World Cup SBS streaming schedule

England's Harry Kane celebrates a goal. (AP Photo/Frank Augstein)
13th June, 2018
1604 Reads

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will kick-off on Friday, June 15, with 64 games in the space of a month set to crown the world champions. SBS are the free-to-air broadcaster in Australia and this is The Roar‘s guide to live streaming their games and other analysis of the tournament online.

While SBS don’t have the rights to every game of the tournament, they will broadcast 25 matches – one per day. That includes the tournament opener, the Socceroos matches, both semi-finals, the third-place match and the final.

SBS also carry live streams of all the matches they have on TV (full schedule below). These can be found through The World Game website or app.

The World Game is free to download on both Andoird and Apple devices, and won’t cost you anything to use online. Both the website and application allow all games and football programmes to be streamed.

The free-to-air broadcaster will also carry in-depth coverage of the tournament, with a replay of their match each day at 6:30am (AEST). They will also have a highlights and analysis show each night at 5:30pm (AEST), as well as a live twitter show in the lead-up to kick-off each day at 7:30pm (AEST). Note that these times are likely to be earlier on Saturday, June 16 with football starting at 8pm (AEST) as Australia play France.

Full schedule of games to be broadcast on SBS

Date Fixture Kickoff time (AEST)
June 15 Russia vs Saudi Arabia 1:00 AM
June 16 Portugal vs Spain 4:00 AM
June 16 Australia vs France 8:00 PM
June 18 Germany vs Mexico 1:00 AM
June 19 Tunisia vs England 4:00 AM
June 19 Colombia vs Japan 10:00 PM
June 20 Portugal vs Morocco 10:00 PM
June 21 Australia vs Denmark 10:00 PM
June 22 Brazil vs Costa Rica 10:00 PM
June 24 Germany vs Sweden 4:00 AM
June 24 England vs Panama 10:00 PM
June 25 TBC TBC
June 26 Australia vs Peru 12:00 AM
June 27 TBC TBC
June 28 TBC TBC
Round of 16 and Quarter-Final matches TBC – will be announced during the tournament
July 11 Semi-final 1 4:00 AM
July 12 Semi-final 2 4:00 AM
July 15 Third-placed playoff 12:00 AM
July 16 World Cup final 1:00 AM

All times are in Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST).