The Roar
The Roar


How to watch 2018 women's State of Origin online or on TV: NSW Blues vs QLD Maroons live stream, start time, date, venue

22nd June, 2018

History will be made on Friday, June 22, when the inaugural women’s State of Origin match is played between New South Wales and Queensland at North Sydney Oval. This is The Roar’s guide to streaming the match online and watching it on TV.

The match is scheduled to kick-off at 7:40pm (AEST).

As for the finish time, the game is set to conclude at 9:25pm.

Both a slice of history and state pride are up for grabs when New South Wales and Queensland meet on Friday night.

How to watch the game on TV

You have two channels to choose if you would like to tune into Friday night’s game.

Fox League is the first option for catching all the action, with coverage on Channel 502 set to begin at 7:30pm (AEST). Following the final whistle at 9:25pm, there will be around 20 minutes of post-game discussion.

To watch the coverage on Fox Sports, you need a valid Foxtel TV subscription, including the sports package.

The free-to-air option is via Channel 9, whose coverage of the game also begins at 7:30pm. A post-match dissection of the game, including player interviews, will conclude at around 10pm.


If you’re unsure of TV listings in your area, be sure to check your local guide or electronic programme.

How to live stream the game online

There are two ways that you can watch the game online.

If you already have the Foxtel TV subscription, you can stream Fox League’s coverage of the game through the Foxtel App, which is free to download and use for with valid login details.

If you are not a Foxtel subscriber, you will need to use Foxtel Now instead. Foxtel Now is a streaming-only option, with various subscription packages available for purchase. You will need to have the sports package included to access the rugby league.

You can also catch all the action from Friday night’s historic game online through Channel 9’s streaming application 9Now.

To watch the coverage, you will need to sign up to 9Now, using either their website or application.

The other alternative to watch the game online is through the NRL live pass.


Otherwise, here at The Roar we will have you covered with a live blog of the game, as well as all the highlights as soon as the full-time siren sounds.

Key game information: Women’s State of Origin

Date: Friday, June 22
Kick-off: 7:40pm (AEST)
Venue: North Sydney Oval
TV: Live, Nine Network and Fox League
Online: Live, 9Now
Betting: New South Wales $1.50, Queensland $2.60
Referees: Jon Stone and Peter Gough


New South Wales Women:
1 Sam Bremner, 2 Taleena Simon, 3 Corban McGregor, 4 Isabelle Kelly, 5 Nakia Davis-Welsh, 6 Lavina O’Mealey, 7 Maddison Studdon (c), 8 Elianna Walton (vc), 9 Rebecca Riley, 10 Simaima Taufa, 11 Talesha Quinn, 12 Kezie Apps, 13 Vanessa Foliaki. Interchange: 14 Nita Maynard, 15 Rebecca Young, 16 Holli Wheeler, 17 Hannah Southwell, 18 Quincy Dodd.

Queensland Women:
1 Chelsea Baker, 2 Karina Brown (c), 3 Amelia Kuk, 4 Meg Ward, 5 Rhiannon Revell-Blair, 6 Zahara Temara, 7 Ali Brigginshaw, 8 Rona Peters, 9 Brittany Breayley (vc), 10 Heather Ballinger, 11 Tazmin Gray, 12 Maitua Feterika, 13 Annette Brander. Interchange: 14 Mariah Storch, 15 Steph Hancock, 16 Kody House, 17 Tallisha Harden, 18 Frieda Seu.