The Roar
The Roar


When does State of Origin 2018 Game 3 start? NSW Blues vs QLD Maroons start time, broadcast info, finish time

Boyd Cordner of the NSW Blues. (AAP Image/Dave Hunt)
10th July, 2018

The NSW Blues will be looking to condemn the Queensland Maroons to their first 3-0 series defeat since 2000 on Wednesday night at Suncorp Stadium in Game 3.

Want to tune in and see if the Blues can do just that? We have you covered with The Roar’s guide to all the key information you need to know for Game 3.

More Origin 3
» Dead rubber? Game 3 proved there’s no such thing in Origin
» Seven talking points from Origin 3
» Queensland Maroons player ratings: Game 3
» NSW Blues player ratings: Game 3
» WATCH: All the highlights as Queensland send Billy Slater out a winner

Kick-off in Wednesday night’s match is scheduled for 7.40pm (AEST).

However, the chances of the game actually starting on time are as slim as the Warriors’ hopes of finding consistency.

Game 2, for example, begun 12 minutes later than advertised, so allow for a slightly delayed start time on Wednesday night.

The match is expected to conclude at 10:10pm, with an hour-long post-game dissection of the series to follow.

Wednesday night’s game will be particularly significant for the Maroons as they look to farewell accomplished fullback Billy Slater in style.

Slater captains an injury-hit Queensland side which includes the heavily-criticised Daly Cherry-Evans at halfback.


Meanwhile, Blues skipper Boyd Cordner looks set to shake off a calf injury in time for Wednesday’s battle. The only change to the series-winning seventeen is the debut of Tariq Sims off the bench in place of Matt Prior.

Key game information: State of Origin Game 3

Date: Wednesday, June 11
Kick-off: 8pm (AEST)
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
TV: Live, Nine Network
Online: Live, 9Now
Betting: New South Wales $1.67, Queensland $2.25
Overall record: Played 113, Queensland 60, New South Wales 51, drawn 2
Record at venue: Played 54, Queensland 34, New South Wales 19, drawn 1
Game 2: NSW 18 defeat QLD 14 at ANZ
Referees: Gerard Sutton and Ashley Klein


New South Wales Blues
1. James Tedesco, 2. Tom Trbojevic, 3. Latrell Mitchell, 4. James Roberts, 5. Josh Addo-Carr, 6. James Maloney, 7. Nathan Cleary, 8. David Klemmer, 9. Damien Cook, 10. Paul Vaughan, 11. Boyd Cordner (c), 12. Tyson Frizell, 13. Jack de Belin

Interchange: 14. Tariq Sims, 15. Jake Trbojevic, 16. Angus Crichton, 17. Tyrone Peachey.

Reserves: Ryan James

Queensland Maroons
1. Billy Slater (c), 2. Valentine Holmes, 3. Dane Gagai, 4. Will Chambers, 5. Corey Oates, 6. Cameron Munster, 7. Daly Cherry-Evans, 8. Jai Arrow, 9. Andrew McCullough, 10. Josh Papalii, 11. Gavin Cooper, 12. Felise Kaufusi, 13. Josh McGuire.


Interchange: 14. Ben Hunt, 15. Jarrod Wallace, 16. Coen Hess, 17. Tim Glasby.

Reserves: Dylan Napa

Broadcast information

The final instalment of this year’s State of Origin series is only available on Channel Nine.

If you intend to watch the game online, you will need to download their stream application 9Now.

Here at The Roar, you can follow the game through our live blog.

Highlights of the match and expert reactions will be available following the final whistle.