The Roar
The Roar


Australian women's squad named for T20 series against New Zealand

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
11th September, 2018

The Australian women’s cricket team have named their squad for the upcoming T20 series against New Zealand, headlined by Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry.

The 13-player squad will feature two debutants for the three-match series, with Victorian leg-spinner Georgia Wareham and fast bowler Tayla Vlaeminck included in the team.

The series, which begins on September 29, will be missing successful spinner Jess Jonassen though, after she sustained a knee injury on the Gold Coast last week. The team will be hurt by her loss, with 41 international T20 wickets to her name in 58 matches at an economy rate of under six.

The squad has plenty of familiar faces though. Outside of Lanning and all-rounder, dual-sport extraordinaire Perry, Rachael Haynes will continue as vice-captain after filling in as captain for the injured Lanning last summer, while Beth Mooney, Elyse Villani and wicket-keeper Alyssa Healy will form the top of the order.

The bowling attack will be led by Megan Schutt, who will need to stand up with the new ball if the inexperienced Australian attack is to limit New Zealand sufficiently with the bat.

National selector Shawn Flegler said it was pleasing to see the Cricket Australia pathways working.

“It’s pleasing to see young players such as Georgia and Tayla putting their hand up for selection, whilst they haven’t played a lot of domestic cricket Georgia has represented the Melbourne Renegades in the WBBL and both players have come through the player pathway, having taken part in the inaugural overseas Under 19 tour and been a part of the National Performance Squad this winter,” he said.

“We’re really fortunate with the depth we have in particular in the leg-spin department, and we feel that Georgia provides the full package that is required for T20 cricket, she’s an outstanding fielder and her bowling has really progressed over the last 12 months.

“Tayla is a little bit different to anyone else around the country, she’s been unlucky with injury over the last few years, but she’s come back and has performed at the right time. Tayla has the attributes to be that key strike bowler who can take early wickets, she’s young and competitive.”


Full squad for New Zealand T20 matches

Note: WBBL team in brackets.

Nicola Carey (Sydney Thunder)
Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers)
Rachael Haynes (vc) (Sydney Thunder)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers)
Delissa Kimmince (Brisbane Heat)
Meg Lanning (c) (Perth Scorchers)
Sophie Molineux (Melbourne Renegades)
Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers)
Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers)
Elyse Villani (Perth Scorchers)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Melbourne Renegades)
Georgia Wareham (Melbourne Renegades)

T20 series vs New Zealand fixtures

1st T20: Saturday September 29, 7:20pm at North Sydney Oval
2nd T20: Monday October 1, 2:10pm at Allan Border Field, Brisbane
3rd T20: Friday October 5, 7:20pm at Manuka Oval, Canberra