The Roar
The Roar


Patrick Mahomes named NFL MVP

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Rookie
3rd February, 2019

Patrick Mahomes has become the youngest winner of the NFL MVP award since Dan Marino in 1984, taking home the title by a landslide vote at the NFL Honours event on Saturday night.

The Kansas City quarterback had a breakthrough 2018, leading the Chiefs to their first AFC title game since 1993 following a season in which he threw for 50 touchdowns, 5,097 yards and had a 113.8 quarterback rating, trailing only Drew Brees.

“I’m so humbled,” he said. “This is just the beginning. We’ve got a long ways to go.

“It is an honour. It’s a hard award to win. The next award I hope I can get is the Super Bowl.”

The 23 year-old was the tenth overall pick in the 2017 NFL draft, as the Chiefs traded up to nab him in the first round, and made his debut against the Denver Broncos in Round 17 of that season.

Since then, he had made an impact in the NFL with his repertoire of eye-catching plays and creative offense.

“The play is never dead. He can find new ways to get you the ball,” Chiefs All-Pro tight end Travis Kelce said following Mahomes’ MVP victory. “It may look like a screwball, a slider here or there, but it’ll get to you eventually.”

In addition to his MVP award, Mahomes also walked away with the NFL Offensive Player of the Year gong on Saturday, further bolstering his already impressive resume.

“Yeah, I mean, it’s awesome … I got put into a great situation,” he said. “I got to learn behind a great quarterback in Alex Smith. I got to be on a team with a lot of playmakers who helped me excel my game and make me look really good on a daily basis. And, then, to be able to go out there and win football games in front of a passionate fan-base is something I get the luxury of doing.”


Mahomes is the sixth straight quarterback and 11th of the past 12 years to win MVP, and the first Kansas City Chiefs player to win the award since they joined the league in 1970.