The Roar
The Roar


Wade snubbed again as Australia reveal ODI squad for India tour

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
7th February, 2019
2800 Reads

Sublime Sheffield Shield and Big Bash form has again gone unrewarded for Matthew Wade, with the wicketkeeper-turned-batsman left off the sheet for Australia’s upcoming ODI tour of India.

Wade has scored 487 runs at an average of 44 in this season of the Big Bash, boasting a strike rate of 143 and five half-centuries in just 12 innings.

With the red ball, he’s scored 571 runs at an average of 63.

But Australian selectors have again overlooked the former first-choice Test keeper, electing for surprise selections Ashton Turner and Usman Khawaja instead.

With the side picked for this tour a likely indication of who’s in favour for the World Cup, it would appear Wade’s chances of featuring in a tournament are all but dashed, as are talismanic Brisbane Heat star Chris Lynn’s.

Dropped from the squad who took on India at home are Mitchell Marsh, Peter Siddle and Billy Stanlake – putting at least a pencil-drawn line through their World Cup chances.

That said, Turner has been solid in the shorter formats, scoring 378 runs at an average of 34 for a dismal Perth Scorchers outfit.

Khawaja’s selection raises eyebrows, however, with many believing he’d be left to play Shield cricket and gear up for the Ashes.

Vice-captain Alex Carey is the lone glovesman heading to the subcontinent, while Pat Cummins has been elevated to vice-captain and Kane Richardson joins the squad in light of mounting injuries to Australia’s bowling stocks.


Josh Hazlewood is still sidelined with a back injury, while Mitchell Starc was revealed to have suffered a pectoral tear in the second Test against Sri Lanka – although selectors claim the latter will be fit for the Pakistan series in March.

D’Arcy Short has also been included as cover for the first two matches as Shaun Marsh remains in Australia for the birth of his second child.

Australian squad to travel to India

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Ashton Turner (Western Australia)
Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)
Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)
Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)
D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)*
* – included as cover for Shaun Marsh during first portion of tour