The Roar
The Roar


Revealed: Australia's Cricket World Cup squad (as chosen by The Roar)

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
5th April, 2019
5959 Reads

Last week we asked you to vote on your ideal squad for Australia’s team, and the results are in.

The official 15-man squad must be submitted to the International Cricket Council by April 23, but in the meantime, our readers have democratically decided on their ideal roster.

Pat Cummins and Glenn Maxwell were the two most popular players. Out of 580 respondents, only five didn’t include Cummins in their squad, and all-rounder Maxwell was overlooked by just seven fans.

Aaron Finch also dominated the poll with 98.3 per cent of the votes, while his opening partner, Usman Khawaja, was another popular choice with 97.8 per cent.

Controversial though they might be, most people want David Warner and Steve Smith back in the Australian side with their suspensions now over. Warner received 92.2 per cent of the vote and Smith 87.1 per cent.

Mitchell Starc was the next-most popular paceman behind Cummins with 91.7 per cent of the vote, while Jhye Richardson and Josh Hazlewood both made the cut with 80 and 63.8 per cent respectively despite their recent injury issues.

In the spin department, Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa to open up the option of playing two tweakers in England. Zampa seems to be preferred as the primary spinner with a staggering 93.3 per cent of votes, far more than Lyon’s 72.6 mark.

Shaun Marsh made the team by the skin of his teeth with 63.3 per cent of the vote, making him the least popular player who made it.

The wicketkeepers selected are Alex Carey and Peter Handscomb, the latter of whom can also play as a specialist batsman. Handscomb won in the polls with 83.4 per cent of votes, due no doubt to his versatility and dependability with the bat.


Nathan Coulter-Nile was the unluckiest man to miss out 47.9 per cent of the vote. Other players who’ve turned out in recent ODIs but missed the cut were Ashton Turner (34%), Jason Berhrendorff (26.7%) and Kane Richardson (7.4%).

The Roar’s Australian Cricket World Cup squad
Usman Khawaja
Pat Cummins
Aaron Finch
Glenn Maxwell
Adam Zampa
Mitchell Starc
David Warner
Steve Smith
Peter Handscomb
Marcus Stoinis
Jhye Richardson
Nathan Lyon
Alex Carey
Josh Hazlewood
Shaun Marsh