The Roar
The Roar


Super Rugby Round 13 teams: Caleb Timu to return via bench, Billy Meakes selected to start

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
8th May, 2019
1680 Reads

The Queensland Reds have made two changes to their starting 15 ahead of their Round 13 trip to Melbourne for what shapes as a vital clash with the Rebels, with the Super Rugby season reaching the business end.

JP Smith and Angus Blyth have both been promoted from the bench to play front row and lock respectively, while Harry Hoopert, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Caleb Timu and Isaac Lucas have all been named on the bench.

Coach Brad Thron called the benching of Hoopert and Salakaia-Loto rotation, rather than saying either of the duo had been dropped, despite the Reds only just getting out of trouble last week at home against the Sunwolves.

The Rebels have also included Billy Meakes in their starting side, replacing Tom English, who is out of the side altogether.

The Blues have also made a couple of changes ahead of their battle with the Hurricanes in Auckland. Rieko Ioane is back after a week off for rest, while Tanielu Tele’a is back from suspension. Caleb Clarke, Matt Duffie, Tom Robinson and Alex Hodgman will all join Sonny Bill Williams on the sideline this weekend.

The Hurricanes, for their part, welcome back TJ Perenara and Ben Lam.

The Bulls have made two changes for their clash with the ladder-leading Crusaders. South African international forwards Schalk Brits and Jason Jenkins are back into the fold, replacing Jaco Visagie and Jannes Kirsten.

The Crusaders have welcomed back Richie Mo’unga and Ryan Crotty, but will again be without captain Sam Whitelock.

Be sure to bookmark this post and keep checking back over the coming days as all of the squads for Super Rugby Round 13 are announced.


Round 13 Super Rugby teams

Friday, 5:35pm: Blues vs Hurricanes at Eden Park, Auckland

1. Karl Tu’inukuafe, 2. James Parsons, 3. Ofa Tuungafasi, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 5. Josh Goodhue, 6. Dalton Papalii, 7. Blake Gibson, 8. Akira Ioane, 9. Sam Nock, 10. Harry Plummer, 11. Rieko Ioane, 12. Ma’a Nonu, 13. TJ Faiane, 14. Tanielu Tele’a, 15. Melani Nanai

Bench: 16. Leni Apisai, 17. Ezekiel Lindenmuth, 18. Marcel Renata, 19. Scott Scrafton, 20. Jed Brown, 21. Augustine Pulu, 22. Otere Black, 23. Matt Duffie

1. Toby Smith, 2. Asafo Aumua, 3. Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 4. James Blackwell, 5. Isaia Walker-Leawere, 6. Vaea Fifita, 7. Ardie Savea, 8. Reed Prinsep, 9. TJ Perenara (c), 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Ben Lam, 12. Ngani Laumape, 13. Matt Proctor, 14. Wes Goosen, 15. Jordie Barrett

Bench: 16. Ricky Riccitelli, 17. Fraser Armstrong, 18. Ross Geldenhuys, 19. Kane Le’aupepe, 20. Du’Plessis Kirifi, 21. Finlay Christie, 22. James Marshall, 23. Chase Tiatia

Friday, 7:45pm: Rebels vs Reds at AAMI Park, Melbourne

1. Tetera Faulkner, 2. Anaru Rangi, 3. Jermaine Ainsley, 4. Ross Haylett-Petty, 5. Matt Philip, 6. Luke Jones, 7. Angus Cottrell, 8. Isi Naisarani, 9. Will Genia, 10. Quade Cooper, 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Reece Hodge, 13. Billy Meakes, 14. Jack Maddocks, 15. Dane Haylett-Petty


Bench: 16. Hugh Roach, 17. Matt Gibbon, 18. Sam Talakai, 19. Pone Fa’amausili, 20. Rob Leota, 21. Richard Hardwick, 22. Michael Ruru, 23. Campbell Magnay

1. JP Smith, 2. Alex Mafi, 3. Taniela Tupou, 4. Izack Rodda, 5. Angus Blyth, 6. Angus Scott-Young, 7. Liam Wright, 8. Scott Higginbotham, 9. Tate McDermott, 10. Bryce Hegarty, 11. Sefa Naivalu, 12. Samu Kerevi (c), 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 14. Jock Campbell, 15. Hamish Stewart

Bench: 16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 17. Harry Hoopert, 18. Ruan Smith, 19. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 20. Caleb Timu, 21. Moses Sorovi, 22. Duncan Paia’aua, 23. Isaac Lucas

Saturday, 3:10am: Bulls vs Crusaders at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

1. Lizo Gqoboka, 2. Schalk Brits, 3. Trevor Kyakane, 4. Jason Jenkins, 5. RG Snyman, 6. Marco van Staden, 7. Jannes Kirsten, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 9. Andre Warner, 10. Handre Pollard, 11. Rosko Specman, 12. Burger Odendaal, 13. Johnny Kotze, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 15. Warrick Gelant

Bench: 16. Jaco Visagie, 17. Simphiwe Matanzima, 18. Wiehahn Herbst, 19. Thembelani Bholi, 20. Paul Schoeman, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Manie Libbok, 23. Divan Rossouw

1. Joe Moody, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Michael Alaalatoa, 4. Mitchell Dunshea, 5. Scott Barrett, 6. Jordan Taufua, 7. Matt Todd (c), 8. Kieran Read, 9. Bryn Hall, 10. Richie Mo’unga, 11. George Bridge, 12. Ryan Crotty, 13. Jack Goodhue, 14. Sevu Reece, 15. David Havili

Bench: 16. Andrew Makalio, 17. Harry Allan, 18. Oliver Jager, 19. Luke Romano, 20. Whetukamokamo Douglas, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. Braydon Ennor


Saturday, 3:15pm: Highlanders vs Jaguares at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

1. Ayden Johnstone, 2. Liam Coltman, 3. Siate Tokolahi, 4. Josh Dickson, 5. Tom Franklin, 6. Luke Whitelock (c), 7. James Lentjes, 8. Elliot Dixon, 9. Aaron Smith, 10. Josh Ioane, 11. Tevita Li, 12. Patelesio Tomkinson, 13. Rob Thompson, 14. Jordan Hyland, 15. Matt Faddes

Bench:16. Ash Dixon, 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown, 18. Tyrel Lomax, 19. Jack Whetton, 20. Liam Squire, 21. Kayne Hammington, 22. Daniel Hollinshead, 23. Thomas Umaga-Jensen

Still to come.

Saturday, 5:35pm: Chiefs vs Sharks at FMG Stadium, Waikato

Still to come.

Still to come.

Saturday, 11:05pm: Lions vs Waratahs at Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg


Still to come.

Still to come.

Sunday, 4:05pm: Brumbies vs Sunwolves at GIO Stadium, Canberra

Still to come.

Still to come.

Bye: Stormers

All times are listed in AEST – Sydney/Melbourne time.