The Roar
The Roar


UEFA Champions League final start time: Liverpool vs Tottenham date, time, venue, squads, key information

Tottenham face Liverpool in the UEFA Champions League final. (AP Photo/Kirsty Wigglesworth)
31st May, 2019

The UEFA Champions League final is here, with Liverpool and Tottenham set to do battle at the Wanda Metropolitano in Madrid, Spain. Kick-off is scheduled for 5am (AEST) on Sunday, June 2.

The Champions League is widely considered as the biggest club football competition in the world, with Europe’s best clubs competing across the course of the year, first through a group stage, then in knockout matches to be crowned the champion.

Liverpool staged a dramatic comeback to make the final against Barcelona. After dropping the first leg of their semi-final 3-0, they came back to win the second leg 4-0 at Anfield.

Tottenham were also involved in a monumental comeback to set up the all-English final against Ajax. Dropping the first leg 1-0 and being behind 2-0 in the second, they ran on three unanswered goals, including a 96th-minute winner to make the biggest club football match of the year.

Key game information: 2019 Champions League final – Liverpool vs Tottenham

Date: Sunday, June 2
Kick-off: 5am (AEST)
Venue: Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain
Online: Live, Optus Sport
Betting: Liverpool $1.50, Tottenham $2.05
Overall record in all competitions: Played 170, Liverpool 79, Tottenham 48, Drawn 43
Last meeting: Premier League, Sunday March 31 – Liverpool defeat Tottenham 1 at Anfield
Referee: Damir Skomina (Slovenia)


3. Fabinho, 4. Virgil van Dijk, 5. Georgino Wijnaldum, 6. Dejan Lovren, 7. James Milner, 9. Roberto Firmino, 10. Sadio Mane, 11. Mohamed Salah, 12. Joe Gomez, 13. Alisson, 14. Jordan Henderson, 15. Daniel Sturridge, 18. Alberto Moreno, 20. Adam Lallana, 21. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, 22. Simon Mignolet, 23. Xherdan Shaqiri, 24. Rhian Brewster, 26. Andy Robertson, 27. Divock Origi, 32. Joel Matip, 62. Caoimhin Kelleher, 66. Trent Alexander-Arnold

1. Hugo Lloris, 2. Kieran Trippier, 3. Danny Rose, 4. Toby Alderweireld, 5. Jan Vertonghen, 6. Davinson Sanchez, 7. Heung-Min Son, 8. Harry Winks, 10. Harry Kane, 11. Erik Lamela, 12. Victor Wanyama, 13. Michel Vorm, 15. Eric Dier, 16. Kyle Walker-Peters, 17. Moussa Sissoko, 18. Fernando Llorente, 20. Dele Alli, 21. Juan Foyth, 22. Paulo Gazzaniga, 23. Christian Eriksen, 24. Serge Aurier, 27. Lucas Moura, 33. Ben Davies, 41. Alfie Whiteman, 47. George Marsh, 52. Oliver Skipp


Broadcast information

The only place you’ll be able to watch and stream the match in Australia is Optus Sport. Their coverage will commence at 4am (AEST).