The Roar
The Roar


Maroons make two changes in team for Origin 2

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
16th June, 2019
3937 Reads

The Queensland Maroons have named their State of Origin team for Game 2 of the 2019 series in Perth.

As expected, the Maroons have only made forced changes to the winning formula from Game 1, with Jai Arrow and Joe Ofahengaue both ruled out in the period between Game 1 and 2 playing club football for the Gold Coast Titans and Brisbane Broncos respectively.

Arrow picked up an ankle injury, while there is a hope Ofahengaue might be back for Game 3, given he only sustained a minor hamstring strain.

Tim Glasby, who was 18th man for Game 1, has been called up to the 17 and will start for the Maroons after making his Origin debut last year.

The other man called up is Jarrod Wallace, who, like Glasby, was dropped from last year’s series.

His form has been up and down in an inconsistent Gold Coast Titans outfit, but with the Ofahengaue unavailable, there was no question on his position in the side.

With no forced changes though, the Maroons will go into Game 2 settled. Captain Daly Cherry-Evans leads a strong spine featuring Kalyn Ponga, Cameron Munster and Ben Hunt, who keeps his spot after a solid Game 1 out of position, despite the return from injury of Andrew McCullough and improved form of Jake Granville in the last couple of weeks.

Michael Morgan will again play out of position in the backline for the Maroons, lining up inside Corey Oates, while Will Chambers and Dane Gagai form the combination on the other side of the park.

Up front, Josh Papalii, Felise Kaufusi, Matt Gillett and Josh McGuire round out the forward pack.


Despite seeing just eight minutes in Game 1, Moses Mbye retains his place as the sides utility, while David Fifita and the explosive Dylan Napa are also on the Queensland bench.

Christian Welch, Edrick Lee and Corey Norman have been included in the extended squad.

Game 2 of the Origin series will be played on Sunday, June 23 at Optus Stadium in Perth, with kick-off slated for 7:50pm (AEST).

Queensland Maroons team for Origin 2

1. Kalyn Ponga
2. Corey Oates
3. Michael Morgan
4. Will Chambers
5. Dane Gagai
6. Cameron Munster
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (C)
8. Dylan Napa
9. Ben Hunt
10. Josh Papalii
11. Felise Kaufusi
12. Matt Gillett
13. Josh McGuire

14. Moses Mbye
15. Jarrod Wallace
16. Tim Glasby
17. David Fifita

18. Christian Welch
19. Edrick Lee
20. Corey Norman