The Roar
The Roar


David Klemmer snubbed as Freddy confirms unchanged Blues side for Origin 3

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
1st July, 2019
1894 Reads

The New South Wales Blues have confirmed their team for Game 3 of the 2019 State of Origin series, making no changes to the side who thumped the Maroons last time out.

There was plenty of talk about potential changes in the Blues side for the deciding match of the series, however, Brad Fittler has stuck to the team who won 38-6 in Perth.

The main concerns were over the fitness of Nathan Cleary and a potential suspension looming over the head of interchange second rower Tariq Sims.

» All the State of Origin team news

Maybe the biggest shock is the exclusion of David Klemmer. The enforcer made his return to NRL for the Newcastle Knights successfully on the weekend, however, has been overlooked for the Blues in favour of Daniel Saifiti, who will start up front after doing a solid job in Game 2.

There could still be a chance for Klemmer to join the side, with the suspension potentially ruling Sims out of the contest. His date at the judiciary is set for Tuesday evening.

Fittler confirmed that if Sims can’t get his charge downgraded, Klemmer will come into the side.

“I’m not sure what the charge is, but if he can’t get it downgraded, Klemmer will be the next man in,” said Fittler, speaking on Channel 9.

Nathan Cleary is also racing the clock to be fit. It would be a miraculous recovery on his ankle injury, however, Fittler has selected him to play at this stage.


Clint Gutherson has once again been named as the 18th man, and will be injury cover for Cleary.

The Blues unchanged team will mean all seven changes Fittler made for Game 2 survive, with none of the dropped players, whether forced or unforced, being recalled.

Game 3 of the series will be played at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Wednesday, July 10.

New South Wales Blues team for Game 3, 2019 State of Origin

1 James Tedesco (vc) (Sydney Roosters)
2 Blake Ferguson (Parramatta Eels)
3 Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
4 Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
5 Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne Storm)
6 James Maloney (Penrith Panthers)
7 Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
8 Daniel Saifiti (Newcastle Knights)
9 Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
10 Paul Vaughan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
11 Boyd Cordner (c) (Sydney Roosters)
12 Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
13 Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

14 Dale Finucane (Melbourne Storm)
15 Tariq Sims (St George Illawarra Dragons)
16 Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
17 Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

18 Clint Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)