The Roar
The Roar


Australia vs New Zealand Netball World Cup Final start time fixture in Australian time zones

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
21st July, 2019

So, you’re keen to watch out Diamonds go after what would be an incredible twelfth Netball World Cup title – great! But the big question is: when does it actually start?

The match is being played on Sunday night in England, which means it’s actually happening in the early hours of Monday morning in most Australian time zones.

If you are living in Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, the ACT or Tasmania, then that means you are in the AEST time zone. For you, the match starts at 1:45am on the morning of Monday 22 July.

If you are planning to watch from South Australia or the Northern Territory, then that means you are in the ACT time zones, and the match will start for you at 1:15am on that same date.

Then, here’s where things get tricky – it always does with this particular state – if you’re living in Western Australia, then you’re in the AWST time zone, and the match actually starts for you at 11:45pm AEST on Sunday 21 July.

Hopefully that clears it up, wherever you’re looking to watch the match from! Enjoy the game.


(Photo by Chloe Knott – Danehouse/Getty Images)

This is the fifteenth edition of the Netball World Cup, since it was first held in the town of Eastbourne in the UK, in 1963.

For the first seven times it was held the cup was a round robin affair, which in 1979 resulted in a bizarre affair where Australia, New Zealand, and Trinidad and Tobago all finished equal atop the table and were crowned joint winners in a triple treat.


Aside from that anomaly however the cup has been dominated by the Antipodean powerhouses. Australia have won the title eleven times and New Zealand four times, and no other nation has gotten as serious sniff.

Since the knockout finals series was introduced in 1991, South Africa in 1995 is the only other nation to have played in a final, losing 48-68 to Australia that year.

Australia have won the last three cups but it has never been all that comfortable, the last in fact the last five titles have all been decided by margins of four goals or less.