The Roar
The Roar


CONFIRMED: Roosters and Raiders lock in teams for NRL grand final

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
6th October, 2019

The teams for the NRL grand final have been locked in, with the Sydney Roosters and Canberra Raiders set to square off for the right to be crowned champions.

The Sydney Roosters have made one late switch, with Jake Friend included on the Roosters bench.

2019 NRL Grand Final
» Match report: Roosters go back-to-back
» Player ratings: Sydney Roosters
» Player ratings: Canberra Raiders
» WATCH: Video highlights

The co-captain, who hasn’t been sighted on a rugby league field for weeks, was touted as a chance to return for the preliminary final last weekend, however, was left out by coach Trent Robinson.

The hooker replaced Zane Tetevano in a surprise move on the interchange bench, with the Roosters otherwise unchanged as they attempt to be the first team to back-to-back in a unified competition since the Brisbane Broncos did it in 1992 and 1993.

Tetevano being dropped from the 17 means Nat Butcher survives on the bench alongside Angus Crichton and Siosiua Taukeiaho.

On the other side of the park, the Raiders are completely unchanged, with Ricky Stuart not needing any of the reserves he had named on Tuesday.

The final two men to drop off the extended bench an hour before kick-off are Ryan Sutton and Siliva Havili.

Canberra had some question marks hovering over Jack Wighton and Joey Leilua earlier in the week, however, both have proven their fitness for the decider and will line up in the halves, and at centre respectively.


2019 NRL Grand Final teams

Sydney Roosters
1. James Tedesco 2. Daniel Tupou 3. Latrell Mitchell 4. Joseph Manu 5. Brett Morris 6. Luke Keary 7. Cooper Cronk 8. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves 9. Sam Verrills 10. Isaac Liu 11. Boyd Cordner 12. Mitchell Aubusson 13. Victor Radley

Interchange: 14. Angus Crichton 16. Nat Butcher 17. Siosiua Taukeiaho 20. Jake Friend

Canberra Raiders
1. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad 2. Nick Cotric 3. Jarrod Croker 4. Joseph Leilua 5. Jordan Rapana 6. Jack Wighton 7. Aidan Sezer 8. Josh Papalii 9. Josh Hodgson 10. Iosia Soliola 11. John Bateman 12. Elliott Whitehead 13. Joseph Tapine

Interchange: 14. Bailey Simonsson 15. Emre Guler 16. Corey Horsburgh 17. Dunamis Lui 19. Ryan Sutton 20. Siliva Havili