The Roar
The Roar


Hooper to the bench, To'omua at flyhalf among ten Wallabies changes for Georgia clash

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
8th October, 2019
4820 Reads

Michael Cheika has revealed the side to play Australia’s final pool stage game at the Rugby World Cup, making a whopping ten changes to the XV that defeated Uruguay 45-10 on Saturday.

Michael Hooper has been moved to the bench as the Wallabies look to ease his workload ahead of the knockout stage of the competition but, while it’s the biggest, it’s far from the only selection change.

Jack Dempsey, Nic White, Matt To’omua, Kurtley Beale and Jordan Petaia are the only players who featured in last Saturday’s win to remain in the run-on XV, with Petaia being swapped to the right wing after making his debut on the left.

To’omua has also been moved to flyhalf in a surprise move, while Bernard Foley has been left out of the 23 altogether.

The Wallabies will play Georgia on Friday night at 9:15pm (AEST) at the Shizuoka Stadium. Amazingly, it’s the first time in Test history the two nations have ever faced off.

Wallabies side to face Georgia
1. Scott Sio, 2. Tolu Latu, 3. Sekope Kepu, 4. Izack Rodda, 5. Rory Arnold, 6. Jack Dempsey, 7. David Pocock (c), 8. Isi Naisarani, 9. Nic White, 10. Matt To’omua, 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Samu Kerevi (vc), 13. James O’Connor, 14. Jordan Petaia, 15. Kurtley Beale

Reserves: 16. Jordan Uelese, 17. James Slipper, 18. Taniela Tupou, 19. Adam Coleman, 20. Michael Hooper, 21. Will Genia, 22. Christian Lealiifano, 23. Dane Haylett-Petty