The Roar
The Roar


Warner, Smith lead Aussie T20 Cup charge

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
8th October, 2019

Steve Smith and David Warner will spearhead Australia’s preparations for a maiden T20 World Cup title as selectors seek rare continuity in the 20-over format.

Darcy Short, Chris Lynn and Marcus Stoinis were the notable omissions from the squad named on Tuesday for games against Sri Lanka and Pakistan starting later this month.

Aaron Finch will captain the side and likely open alongside Warner, with Smith at first drop, while those outside the squad have been encouraged to push their case in the Big Bash League before the World Cup begins on home soil next October.

Australians T20 squad:
Aaron Finch (capt)
Ashton Agar
Alex Carey
Pat Cummins
Glenn Maxwell
Ben McDermott
Kane Richardson
Steve Smith
Billy Stanlake
Mitchell Starc
Ashton Turner
Andrew Tye
David Warner
Adam Zampa.