The Roar
The Roar


Revealing The Roar's AFL team of the decade for the 2010s

28th November, 2019
1901 Reads

On The Roar’s Game of Codes podcast, we’ll be naming our teams of the decade as the year winds down.

On Tuesday, it was rugby union’s international XV of the decade. Today, it’s the AFL’s turn.

We were joined on the Game of Codes podcast by Roar AFL expert Cam Rose to debate who makes the cut as we named all 22 players from the back pocket to full forward.

While we’ve got the full team listed below, make sure you listen to the discussion in the player above to learn how the experts reached their conclusions – some spots had to debated – as well as who just missed the cut.

The Roar’s AFL team of the decade

B: Corey Enright, Alex Rance, Josh Gibson
HB: Heath Shaw, Jeremy McGovern, Luke Hodge
C: Scott Pendlebury, Patrick Dangerfield, Dan Hannebery
HF: Robbie Gray, Lance Franklin, Dustin Martin
F: Cyril Rioli, Jack Riewoldt, Josh J. Kennedy
FOL: Max Gawn, Nat Fyfe, Gary Ablett Jr.
I/C: Shaun Burgoyne, Josh P. Kennedy, Sam Mitchell, Dane Swan

Listen to the debate in the player above.

Visit our Game of Codes hub to catch the full episode and be sure to subscribe and review on iHeartRadio, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts or wherever else you’re listening.