The Roar
The Roar


Bayliss awarded OBE for World Cup title

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
28th December, 2019

Australian coach Trevor Bayliss and his victorious England cricket team have received New Year Honours for winning the World Cup.

The Australian, who has since vacated his post, was awarded an OBE along with Ben Stokes and his teammates.

All-rounder Stokes grabbed the headlines in a dramatic summer of cricket in the UK.

He scored an unbeaten 84 as England became world champions with victory over New Zealand in July, and followed it up six weeks later with a match-winning 135 not out in the third Ashes Test at Headingley.

Eoin Morgan, who captained the team to World Cup glory, has been made a CBE while wicketkeeper Jos Buttler and England’s top run-scorer in the tournament and Test skipper Joe Root have both been given MBEs.

A knighthood goes to West Indies cricket great Clive Lloyd, who played a key role as captain of the side that came to dominate the sport.

Former England wicketkeeper Alan Knott, regarded as one of the game’s greatest-ever glovemen, was awarded an MBE.

Bayliss, who coached Sri Lanka before his England stint, also played Sheffield Shield cricket for NSW.